Track your constituency

Howrah Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

The Parliamentary Constituency of Howrah is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha constituencies and came into being prior to the 1951 elections. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Howrah Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 25) were 1,344,746 of which 612,728 are females and 732,018 are males. It comprises of seven legislative assembly segments, of which one is reserved for SC category and has 1,344,746 electors. It is one of the 16 constituencies representing the district of Howrah the headquarters of which lies in the city of Howrah and has a total area of 1, 467 sq km.

As per the 2011 census data, the total population of the Howrah District is 4,841,638 with a male majority. The population growth rate of Howrah District was 13.31% from 2001 to 2011 and it has a population density of 2,913 persons per sq km. About 9% of the population is under the age of six and the sex ratio is 935 females per 1000 males. With an average literacy rate of 83.85%, which is higher than the national average, the male and female literacy rates of the district are 81% and 73% respectively. Bengali is the official language here while English and Hindi are also widely spoken. The National Highway NH-6 passes through this area and connects it to a large road network to the major cities in and around the state.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Howrah Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Howrah parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Howrah constituency is Prasun Banerjee of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201425HowrahGENPrasun BanerjeeMAITC488461Sridip BhattacharyaMCPM291505
2013Bye PolHowrahGENPrasun BanerjeeMAITC426387Sridip BhattacharyaMCPI(M) 399422
200925HowrahGENAmbica BanerjeeMAITC477449Swadesh ChakraborttyMCPM440057
200424HowrahGENSwadesh ChakraborttyMCPM489444Dr. Bikram SarkarMAITC242507
199924HowrahGENSwadesh ChakrabortyMCPM490537Dr. Kakoli Ghosh DastidarMAITC387088
199824HowrahGENDr Bikram SarkarMWBTC437224Swadesh ChakrabortyMCPM430689
199624HowrahGENPriya Ranjan Das MunsiMINC459059Susanta ChakrabortyMCPM425128
199124HowrahGENSusanta Chakraborty S/O SudhirMCPM351744Priya Ranjan Das MunshiMINC344364
198924HowrahGENSushanta ChakarbortyMCPM397138Priya Ranjan Das MunshiMINC395706
198424HowrahGENPriya Ranjan Das MunshiMINC381216Samar MukherjeeMCPM287174
198024HowrahGENSamar MukherjeeMCPM263337Nityananda DeyMINC(I)205028
197724HowrahGENSamar Mukherjee 11Dharmatala LaneMCPM236530Nityananda DeyMINC131799
197122HowrahGENSamar MukherjeeMCPM150917Mrityunjoy BanerjeeMINC125875
196722HowrahGENK. K. ChatterjeeMINC176469S. MukherjeeMCPM134175
196220HowrahGENMohammad EliasMCPI137812Krishna Kumar Chatterji MINC133876
195714HowrahGENMohammed EliasMCPI108238Santosh Kr. DuttMINC67403
195113HowrahGENSantosh Kumar DuttaMINC60929Anil Kumar(Sarkar)MCPI59163

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Howrah Constituency

Name of MP Shri Prasun Banerjee
Age 63
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc.
Activities of Shri Prasun Banerjee in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 2
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 31
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Howrah Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Howrah parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
BallyHowrah UttarHowrah Madhya
ShibpurHowrah DakshinSankrail (SC)

Last Updated on March 13, 2019