Cooch Behar Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Cooch Behar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

Candidate Party EVM Votes Migrant Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes Status
Nisith Pramanik Bharatiya Janata Party 728634 0 2960 731594 47.98 Winner
Adhikary Paresh Chandra All India Trinamool Congress 676339 0 1024 677363 44.43 1st Runner-up
Gobinda Chandra Roy All India Forward Bloc 46648 0 162 46810 3.07 2nd Runner-up
Piya Roy Chowdhury Indian National Congress 28087 0 128 28215 1.85 3rd Runner-up
NOTA None Of The Above 14470 0 20 14490 0.95 4th Runner-up
Nirmal Kumar Roy Independent 7068 0 1 7069 0.46 5th Runner-up
Harekrishna Sarkar Independent 6144 0 1 6145 0.4 6th Runner-up
Naresh Chandra Roy Independent 4068 0 9 4077 0.27 7th Runner-up
Prabhat Roy Socialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist) 3169 0 5 3174 0.21 8th Runner-up
Kangsa Raj Barman Kamatapur People'S Party (United) 2066 0 12 2078 0.14 9th Runner-up
Subodh Barman Amra Bangalee 1930 0 5 1935 0.13 10th Runner-up
Dhananjoy Barman Welfare Party Of India 1729 0 4 1733 0.11 11th Runner-up

Cooch Behar Bye-Elections 2016 Result

PC No. PC Name Winner Party Votes Runner-up Party Votes
1 Coochbehar (SC) Partha Pratim Ray TMC 794375 Hem Chandra Barman BJP 381134

Cooch Behar Bye-Elections 2016 Candidate list

Sl.No. Candidate name Party Name
1 Nripendra Nath Roy All India Forward Bloc
2 Partha Pratim Isore Indian National Congress
3 Partha Pratim Ray All India Trinamool Congress
4 Hem Chandra Barman Bharatiya Janata Party
5 Kangsa Raj Barman Kamatapur People's Party (United)
6 Dhananjoy Barman Welfare Party Of India
8 Subodh Barman Amra Bangalee
9 Naresh Chandra Roy Independent
10 Nirmal Kumar Roy Independent

About Cooch Behar Lok Sabha Constituency

One of the 42 Lok Sabha Constituencies of West Bengal, Cooch Behar Parliamentary Constituency is reserved for the SC category and was formed before the 1951 elections. 1,329,086 is the total electorate count in the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1). Out of these 700,250 number of electorates are males and the remaining 628,836 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.It has over 1,340,000 electors and comprises of seven Vidhan Sabha segments. It represents the Cooch Behar District which belongs to the Administrative Division of Jalpaiguri. It has a total area of 3,390 sq km and is located in the eastern region of the state bordering Assam.

The 136th most populous district of India, the census data of India states the total of Cooch Behar to be 2,820,780 with male population of 1,452,000 and female population of 1,368,000. From 2001 to 2011, the district has had a population growth rate of 14% and a population density of 832 people per sq km. It has a child population of 345,000 and a sex ratio of 942 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Cooch Behar is 75%, with male literacy rate of 81% and female literacy rate of 69%. There are over 1800 schools and several colleges. Bengali is the official language of the area. Agriculture, tourism and trade are the primary economic activities here. The National Highway NH-31 connects the district to the national road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Cooch Behar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Cooch Behar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Cooch Behar constituency is Shri Renuka Sinha of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MP Gender Party Vote Runner Up MP Gender Party Vote
2014 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Renuka Sinha F AITC 526499 Dipak Kumar Roy M AIFB 439392
2009 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Roy,Shri Nripendra Nath M AIFB 500677 Arghya Roy Pradhan M AITC 466928
2004 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Hiten Barman M AIFB 490982 Girindra Nath Barman M AITC 264413
1999 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roy Pradhan M FBL 443148 Ambika Charan Ray M AITC 334983
1998 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roypradhan M FBL 396140 Gobinda Roy M FB(S) 272974
1996 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roy Pradhan M FBL 393667 Sabita Roy M INC 304633
1991 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roy Pradhan M FBL 414037 Sabita Ray (W) F INC 281805
1989 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roy Pradhan M FBL 422168 Sabita Roy F INC 368698
1984 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roy Prodhan M FBL 345160 Prasenjit Barman M INC 299643
1980 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amar Roy Pradhan M FBL 304158 Ambika Charan Roy M INC(I) 186012
1977 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Amrendranath Roy Pradhan M FBL 226521 Benoy Krishna Daschowdhury M INC 123663
1971 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Benoy Krishna Daschowdhury M INC 150869 Nagendra Nath Roy M CPM 80265
1967 1 Cooch Behar (SC) B. K. D. Chowdhury M FBL 167971 P. C. Barman M INC 124135
1963 Bye Pol Cooch Behar GEN P.C.Barman M INC 122205 B.K.Daschoudhury M FB 62611
1962 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Debendra Nath Karjee M FB 141436 Upendra Nath Barman M INC 109676
1957 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Santosh Banerjee M INC 247783 Sibendra Kumar Bhattacharya M FBM 173392
1957 1 Cooch Behar (SC) Upendranath Barman M INC 220572 Kamalkrishna Roy Singha M FBM 127583

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Cooch Behar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Cooch Behar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Mathabhanga (SC) Cooch Behar Uttar (SC) Cooch Behar Dakshin
Sitalkuchi (SC) Sitai (SC) Dinhata

Last Updated on June 26, 2019
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates