Murshidabad (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About murshidabad Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Murshidabad is constituency No. 64 of West Bengal legislative assembly. Situated in Murshidabad district, it comes under Lok Sabha constituency No. 11 which also goes by the same name. It is an unreserved constituency. According to data with the Election Commission of India, Murshidabad constituency has 1,88,558 registered voters out of which 98,695 are male, and 89,863 are female voters. Although the Trinamool Congress achieved a historic victory in the 2011 assembly elections, it couldn't make any inroads in Murshidabad constituency. This seat was won by the Indian National Congress. While Congress candidate Shaoni Singha Roy got 75,441 votes, her main opponent, Bivas Chakraborty of Forward Bloc, got 69,089. The voter turnout was 86.92 %. It was a valuable win for the Congress because this seat had been held by the Forward Bloc party for previous two consecutive terms. The Congress had last won this seat in 1987.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Assembly murshidabad Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the murshidabad assembly elections conducted so far.
Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 64 Murshidabad GEN Shaoni Singha Roy F INC 75441 Bivas Chakraborty M AIFB 69089
2006 58 Murshidabad GEN Bivas Chakraborty M AIFB 82312 Joyanta Roy M IPFB 69014
2001 58 Murshidabad GEN Chhaya Ghosh F FBL 69572 Mannan Hossain M IND 46578
1996 58 Murshidabad GEN Mozammel Haque M IND 54049 Abdul Ohab Mondal M INC 45637
1991 58 Murshidabad GEN Chhaya Ghosh F FBL 58424 Asak Ali M INC 38152
1987 58 Murshidabad GEN Mannan Hossain M INC 41878 Ray Madan Mohan M IND 38197
1982 58 Murshidabad GEN Chhaya Ghosh M FBL 51353 Dedar Bakshi M ICS 39259
1977 58 Murshidabad GEN Chhaya Ghosh F FBL 17524 Syed Nawab Jani Meerza M JNP 12960
1972 53 Murshidabad GEN Mohammad Idrai Ali M INC 21871 Jarzis Hussain Sarkar M CPM 16975
1971 53 Murshidabad GEN Mohammad Idris Ali M INC 10553 Jarjis Hossain Sarkar M CPM 9765
1969 53 Murshidabad GEN Mohammad Idris Ali M INC 16970 Syed Kazim Ali Meerza M IND 14754
1967 53 Murshidabad GEN S.K.A.Meerza M INC 21843 S.N.J.Meerza M IND 14618
1962 48 Murshidabad GEN Birendra Narayan Ray M IND 19144 Durgapada Sinha M INC 12183
1957 33 Murshidabad GEN Durgapada Sinha M INC 17034 Birendra Narayan Roy M IND 15998
1951 38 Murshidabad GEN Durgapada Sinha M INC 14012 Sailendra Nath Adhikari M KMPP 7434

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates