Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

West Bengal Election Commission

About Election Commission of West Bengal

The West Bengal State Election Commission was constituted under the provisions of Article 243K of the Constitution of India. The same clause of the Constitution accords “superintendence, direction and control of the entire process for conduct of elections to the Panchayats and Municipal bodies” of West Bengal to the Election Commission of the state. The state has 17 Zilla Parishads and one Mahakuma Parishad consisting of a total of 755 constituencies. There are 341 Panchayat Samitis comprising 8,864 Panchayat Samiti constituencies. Moreover, the state also accommodates 36,016 constituencies of 3,354 gram panchayats. There are 1,806 constituencies and wards in six Municipal Corporations and 121 Municipalities.

Chief Election Commissioner of West Bengal

Born on 5 December 1963, Sunil Kumar Gupta is the Chief Election Commissioner of the state of West Bengal. Sunil Kumar Gupta is a 1987 batch IAS officer of the West Bengal cadre. He did B. Tech. in civil engineering from IIT Kanpur. He also obtained a master’s degree in civil and environmental engineering from State University of New York in Buffalo. He also obtained an Advanced Diploma in Public Administration from Syracuse University.

Office of the Chief Election Commissioner of West Bengal

Address: West Bengal, 21- N.S Road, Kolkata – 700001
Phone No. (033) 2254 4964, (033) 2231 0850
Fax No. (033) 2231 0840
Email: [email protected], [email protected]

Last Updated on April 11, 2020