Track your constituency

Municipal Corporation

About Municipal Corporation in India

The urban local government which works for the development of any Metropolitan City with a population of more than one million is known as the Municipal Corporation in India. The members of the Municipal Corporation are directly elected by the people and are called Councillors.

Jammu & Kashmir Municipal Corporation Results 2018

Name of the Muncipal BodyWard Name/Ward NameName of the candidatesGenderPartyTotal votes receivedTotal Votes PolledWinner% VotesComments
DodaPul DodaZareena Begum-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaBun Doda BGagandeep-BJP-----
DodaBun Doda AAsif Iqbal-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaDrumraNusrat begum-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaSuharwardyMuzhir ul Haq-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaLower AkramabadFarooq Ahmed-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaUpper AkarmabadUmeera Rashid-INC-----
DodaDak AkarmabadAdil Hussain-INC-----
DodaIrfan Abad ATanveer Ahmed-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaSah ManchanTuiba Begum-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaIrfan Abad BShabir Ahmed-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaGattu MohallaAsif Jahan Gattu-INC-----
DodaAstan BathiAisha Begum-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaFaridiaSayed Shah-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaAnwar AbadVed Parkash-INDEPENDENT-----
DodaFarid AbadRamesh Kumar-BJP-----
DodaNagri ParmazKaushaliya Devi-BJP

For More, Visit Election Results 2018 Live and Latest Update

Who are the members of a Municipal Corporation

The Municipal Corporation consists of a committee which includes a Mayor with Councillors. The Corporations provide necessary community services to the Metropolitan Cities and are formed under the Corporation Act of 1835 of Panchayati Raj system. The Mayor heads the Municipal Corporation. The corporation remains under the charge of Municipal Commissioner. The Executive Officers along with the Mayor and Councillors monitor and implement the programs related to planning the development of the corporation. The number of Councillors also depends upon the area and population of the city. In India, the four metropolitan cities; Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai, have the largest corporations.

Who conducts Municipal Corporation Elections

The elections to the Municipal Corporations are conducted under the guidance, direction, superintendence and control of the State Election Commission. The corporations fall under the State government jurisdiction, therefore there are no uniform provisions for the election of the municipal bodies. In some States, the elections are organised by the state governments, while in some states, the Executive Officers arrange the same.

Delhi Municipal Elections 2017
MCD Elections 2017
MCD Election 2017 Date
MCD Election 2012 Results
NDMC Ward List 2017
MCD Opinion Poll 2017

How are Municipal Corporation Elections conducted?

The members of the Municipal Corporation are elected by the people through direct elections. The elections are held for a particular ward in the city. The electoral roll of a particular ward elects the representative or Councillor for their ward. The electoral roll for each ward is divided in to one or several parts depending upon the area within the ward where the voters of each part reside. This means that the voters included in each part belong to a street or a road or a named area within that ward. The voters from all the parts together form the electoral roll of a particular ward.

Qualification for contesting Municipal Corporation elections

A person can contest elections for Municipal Corporation if he/she fulfills the following criteria:
  • She/he must be a citizen of India
  • She/he must have attained the age of 21 years
  • His/her name is registered in the Electoral Roll of a ward
  • She/he is not earlier disqualified for contesting Municipal Corporation elections.
  • She/he must not be an employee of any Municipal Corporation in India
There are few seats which are reserved for scheduled tribes, scheduled castes, backward classes and women. Every candidate's nomination form should have a declaration stating the class, caste, or tribe that she/he belongs to. There should be a declaration that the candidate is a woman, in case the seat is reserved for a women candidate.

The Term of a Municipal Corporation

The office of Municipal Corporation runs for a period of five years since the beginning of its first meeting. It is subject to dissolution under various circumstances:
  • If the State finds the Corporation lagging in its duties
  • If the State finds the corporation exceeding or abusing its power
  • Declaration of the Municipal elections in the State as void, or withdrawal of the entire area of the ward from the municipal operations.

Functions of Municipal Corporation

The Municipal Corporation looks after providing the essential services to the people of that district/area which includes:
  • Hospitals
  • Water Supply
  • Drainage
  • Market places
  • Fire Brigades
  • Roads
  • Over Bridge
  • Solid Waste
  • Street Lightning
  • Parks
  • Education
  • Birth and Death Records in the Area

Roles and Duties of a Councillor

The Councillors under the Municipal Corporations perform the following duties:
  • To work towards the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole.
  • To participate in the council meetings, council committee meetings and meetings of other related bodies.
  • To participate in developing and evaluating the programs and policies of the municipality
  • To keep the privately discussed matters in council meetings in confidence.
  • To get all the information from the chief administrative officer about the operation and administration of the municipality.
  • To perform any other similar or necessary duties.

Last Updated on Feb 3, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Jyotiraditya Scindia BJP Destruction From Within: Jyotiraditya Scindia Joins BJP

A long time Congress loyalist and Rahul Gandhi’s young Congress group member, Jyotiraditya has left the party. As of 11th March, Scindia has joined Bharatiya Janata Party in the presence Read More…

AAP Delhi Election Results AAP Maintains Lead in Delhi Assembly Elections Results 2020

Vote counting is underway for Delhi Election Result 2020. The tension is heightened up for the real outcome of the election. As per the latest updates, Aam Aadmi Party is Read More…

Delhi Election Results 2020 - Live News Updates Delhi Election Results 2020: Live News Updates

  DELHI ELECTION RESULTS 2020 LIVE 7:21:21 PM Result Declared Chhatarpur: Kartar Singh Tanwar of AAP won by 3720 votes. Karol Bagh: Vishesh Ravi of AAP won by 31760 votes. Read More…