Track your constituency

Live News

Jhargram Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Connection failed: Access denied for user 'elect_eleciondb'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

Jhargram Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Kunar HembramBharatiya Janata Party6233730321062658344.56Winner
Birbaha SarenAll India Trinamool Congress6135660125061481643.721st Runner-up
Deblina HembramCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)753790301756805.382nd Runner-up
Jageswar HembramIndian National Congress20712042207541.483rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above17664028176921.264th Runner-up
Narendra Nath HembramIndependent13209019132280.945th Runner-up
Ashok Kumar MurmuBahujan Samaj Party11311013113240.816th Runner-up
Birbaha HansdaJharkhand Party (Naren)11165039112040.87th Runner-up
Maheswar HembramAkhil Bhartiya Jharkhand Party84810384840.68th Runner-up
Sushil MandiSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)64460364490.469th Runner-up

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Jhargram Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies of West Bengal state, formed in 1962 and has seven segments. 1,241,574 is the total electorate count in the Jhargram Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 33). Out of these 632,706 number of electorates are males and the remaining 608,868 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It is reserved for ST category and has 1,241,600 voters. The city of Jhargram lies in the Paschim Medinipur District about 200 km from the city of Kolkata. It has an average elevation of 81 m and covers a total area of about 10 sq km. According to India Census 2001, the town has a population of over 53,000 with 11% being under 6 years old. Males constitute 51% of the population, females comprise 49% and the city has a sex ratio of 960 females for every 1000 males. It is mostly a Bengali Hindu community.

Bengali, Urdu, Hindi and English are the languages prevalent in the city. It has an average literacy rate of 80% with male literacy at 86% and female literacy at 76%. A number of schools and colleges with facilities for education in Hindi, Bengali and English are available. Economically, Palghar is mostly an agro based economy and is one of the backward regions of the state. National Highways NH-6, NH-33, NH-60 and NH-5 connect it to several major towns and cities in and around the area.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jhargram Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jhargram parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jhargram constituency is Uma Saren of CPM.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201433Jhargram(ST)Uma SarenFAITC674504Dr. Pulin Bihari BaskeMCPM326621
200933Jhargram(ST)Baske,Dr. Pulin Bihari MCPM545231Amrit HansdaMINC252886
200433Jhargram(ST)Rupchand MurmuMCPM509045Nityananda HembramMAITC157702
199933Jhargram(ST)Rupchand MurmuMCPM402325Dakhin MurmuMAITC293644
199833Jhargram(ST)Murmu RupchandMCPM455625Samay MandiMWBTC168437
199633Jhargram(ST)Rupchand MurmuMCPM485498Subodh HansdaMINC138234
199133Jhargram(ST)Rupchand MurmuMCPM375760Amiya KiskuMJKP223453
198933Jhargram(ST)Matilal HansdaMCPM397944Panchanan HansdaMINC167046
198433Jhargram(ST)Motilal HansdaMCPM290454Amiya Kumar KiskuMINC215212
198033Jhargram(ST)Hasada MatilalMCPM257936Tushar TuduMINC(I)159767
197733Jhargram(ST)Jadunath KiskuMCPM159433Amiya Kumar KiskuMINC111838
197131Jhargram(ST)Amiya Kumar KiskuMINC102762Jadu Nath KiskuMCPM88069
196731Jhargram(ST)A. K. Kisku.MBAC160399S. C. Hansda MINC114633
196228Jhargram(ST)Subodh HansdaMINC101784Gopinath Saren MCPI56425

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jhargram Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jhargram parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Nayagram (ST)Gopiballavpur Jhargram
GarbetaSalboniBandwan (ST)
Binpur (ST) 

Last Updated on June 28, 2019