Bandwan (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Bandwan Assembly Constituency

Bandwan is constituency No. 238 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in Purulia district and comes under Jhargram Lok Sabha constituency. Both Bandwan and its corresponding Lok Sabha constituency Jhargram are reserved for scheduled tribes (ST).

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Bandwan has 2,23,789 registered voters. It comprises 1,14,164 male and 1,09,625 female registered voters.

In the 2011 Assembly elections, the CPI(M) won this seat by 22,020 votes. Besra Susanta, the winning CPI(M) candidate, got 87,183 votes. The nearest contender was Sital Chandra Hembram of the Congress who got 65,163 votes. The voter turnout was 80.52 %

Sitting and previous MLAs from Bandwan Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Bandwan assembly elections conducted so far.

year AC No. AC name Type of AC Winner Gender Party Vote Runner-up Gender Party Vote
2011 238 Bandwan (ST) Besra Susanta M CPM 87183 Sital Chandra Hembram M INC 65163
2006 233 Banduan (ST) Upendra Nath Hansda M CPI(M) 55486 Kamala Kanta Mandi M BJP 24842
2001 233 Banduan (ST) Upendranath Hansda M CPM 48299 Birsing Murmu M JMM 32403
1996 233 Banduan (ST) Lakhiram Kisku M CPM 53680 Sital Chandra Hembram M INC 18097
1991 233 Banduan (ST) Lakhi Ram Kisku M CPM 46007 Bir Singh Murmu M JMM 21383
1987 233 Banduan (ST) Lakshi Ram Kisku M CPM 43454 Ramprasad Hansda M INC 27622
1982 233 Banduan (ST) Sudhangshu Sarkar Majhi M CPM 34465 Panchanan Soren M IND 19524
1977 233 Banduan (ST) Sudhangshu Sekhar Majhi M CPM 12165 Buddeswar Majhi M INC 8721
1972 220 Banduan (ST) Sital Chandra Hembram M INC 14609 Ramesh Majhi M CPM 9362
1971 220 Banduan (ST) Sital Chandra Hembram M INC 11954 Kandru Majhi M LSS 11383
1969 220 Banduan (ST) Budheswar Majhi M INC 17511 Kandru Majhi M LSS 16078
1967 220 Banduan (ST) K . Majhi M IND 18740 B . Majhi M INC 13140
1962 198 Banduan (ST) Kandru Majhi M LSS 13043 Sarada Prasad Kisku M INC 10003
Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates