Track your constituency
Live News

Maharashtra Elections 2019 - Updates and Results

The election commission of India released a notification for the Maharashtra Assembly Election schedule on 27 September 2019. About 8,95,62,706 registered voters decided the fate of candidates on October 21, 2019. There are 288 seats in the Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha, of which 29 and 25 seats are reserved for scheduled castes and scheduled tribes respectively. Devendra Fadnavasi was the chief minister of Maharashtra since 2014, his term ended on 12 November 2019.

There was a pre-poll alliance between BJP-ShivSena and INC-NCP. Maharashtra election results were declared on October 24, 2019. There was 61.3 % voter turnout in the 2019 Maharashtra assembly elections. BJP and ShivSena coalition won a majority in the election with BJP bragging 105 seats and ShivSena 56 seats. INC won 44 seats out of 147 seats it contested. While Sharad Pawar led NCP made a re-entry into Maharashtra politics by winning 54 seats - 13 more than the 2014 elections. The seats won by other parties are CPI(M)-1, MNS-1, AIMIM-2, SP-2, and 23 other winners from various parties and independent candidates

Quick facts for Maharashtra Elections

Quick facts for Haryana Elections
Parliamentary Constituencies48
Assembly Constituencies288
Ruling PartyShiv Sena + NCP + INC
Opposition PartyBhartiya Janta Party (BJP)
Chief MinisterUddhav Thack
GovernorC. Vidyasagar Rao
Chief Electoral OfficerShri. Jageshwar S . Saharia
AddressRoom No. 624, 6th Floor Mantralaya, Mumbai-400032

Maharashtra Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2019 Summary

Maharashtra Assembly (Vidhansabha) Election Result 2019

Maharashtra Assembly (Vidhansabha) Election Result 2014

Political crisis after Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019

The BJP-ShivSena alliance broke after the elections over disagreement for the post of CM. This resulted in a political crisis since no party had a majority. The governer invited ShivSena to form a government when BJP conveyed the lack of numbers. This was followed by a political drama between NCP and ShivSena over support to the government. The governer rejected ShivSena’s claim since NCP did not send any confirmation of support to ShivSena. Meanwhile, BJP also tried to form a government overnight with support from NCP rebel Ajit Pawar and failed miserably when Ajit Pawar backed off.

In the end, with the efforts of Sharad Pawar, a government was formed with the coalition of NCP, INC, and ShivSena with Uddhav Thackeray proposed to be the chief minister. Uddhav Thackeray was sworn in as 19th chief minister of Maharashtra on 28 November 2019.

Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019 - Party Wise Results

Row LabelsCount of Party
Grand Total288

Maharashtra Lok Sabha (General ) Election Summary 2019

There are 48 parliamentary constituencies in Maharashtra. The 2019 general elections for the state of Maharashtra were held across four phases. Starting from 11 April- 7 seats, 18 April- 10 seats, 23 April- 14 seats, to 29 April- 17 seats. There was a pre-poll alliance between BJP and ShivSena. From this alliance, BJP contested 25 seats and ShivSena 23 seats. INC and NCP also formed an alliance contesting 26 and 22 seats respectively. Out of the 26 seats, INC gave one seat each to its regional support parties Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi (BVA) and Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana (SSS). Likewise, NCP too gave one seat each to SSS and Yuva Swabhiman Party (YSP).

Maharashtra Lok Sabha (General) Election Results Summary 2019

The results for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 were announced on 23 May 2019. BJP won the highest 23 seats in the election. Followed by ShivSena winning 18 seats, NCP-4, INC-1, AIMIM-1, and 1 independent candidate winner. BJP, ShivSena, and NCP managed to regain the seats won in 2014 general elections. Some of the Key candidates for Maharashtra were Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur- Won, Supriya Sule from Baramati- Won, Pritam Munde from Beed- Won, Sanjay Nirupan from Mumbai northwest- Lost, and Ashok Chavan from Nanded- Lost.

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections Party Wise Results 2019

StatePartyNumber of Seats
MaharashtraBharatiya Janata Party23
MaharashtraNationalist Congress Party4
MaharashtraAll India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen1
MaharashtraIndian National Congress1

Last Updated on Feb 26, 2020

Managed By 5 Dots Partners | © 2023