Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Batala (Punjab) Election Results 2017

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Batala assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Batala Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal (won by: 485)
Political Party -

Batala Election Results 2017

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2017 Vidhan Sabha Election in Batala Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2017 INC RunnerUpAshwani Sekhri 42032
2017 SAD WinnerLakhbir Singh Lodhinangal 42517

List of candidates for Batala Constituency 2017

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, AAP, Congress, Shiv Sena, APP, SAD etc. from the Batala Assembly Constituency in the Punjab Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2017.

Batala , Constituency No -(7)
Election Date04/02/17 
Result Date11/03/17 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPBakhshis Singh
AAPAAPGurpreet Singh Ghuggi
INC INC Ashwani Sekhri
CPMCPMAvtar Singh
INDINDAshwani Kumar
INDINDAshwani Kumar Shakri
INDINDAnil Mahajan
INDINDSanjeev Kumar Malhan
INDINDSantosh Kumar
INDINDGurpreet Singh Ghulli
INDINDLakhbir Singh
SAD SAD Lakhbir Singh Lodhinangal
APPAPPInder Sekhri

About Batala Assembly Constituency

Batala is constituency No. 7 of Punjab legislative assembly.
It is situated in Gurdaspur district and comes under the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Batala has 1,62,353 registered voters. It comprises 85,046 male and 77,307 female registered voters.

In the last Punjab assembly elections held in 2012, the Congress won this constituency by 18,885 votes. Ashwani Sekhri, the winning Congress candidate, got 66,806 votes. The nearest contender was Lakhbir Singh Lodhi Nangal of Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) who got 47,921 votes. The voter turnout was 73.90 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Batala Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Batala assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
20127BatalaGENAshwani SekhriMINC66806Lakhbir Singh Lodhi NangalMSAD47921
20072BatalaGENJagdish SahniMBJP47936AshwaniMINC47850
20022BatalaGENAshwaniMINC47933Jagdish SawhneyMBJP34405
19852BatalaGENAshwaniMINC34401Dharam SinghMSAD20230
19802BatalaGENGopal Krishan ChatrathMINC(I)26448Baldev MitterMBJP20832
19772BatalaGENPanna Lal NayyarMJNP28191Vishwa Mittar SekhriMINC24999
197231BatalaGENVishwa MittarMINC23808Gurbachan SinghMBJS14342
196931BatalaGENBikaramajit SinghMBJS22239Mohan LalMINC20635
196731BatalaGENM. LalMINC18528R. LalMBJS13722
1962124BatalaGENMohan LalMINC27294Gurbachan SinghMIND12636
195777BatalaGENGorakh NathMINC15276Rattan LalMBJS13771
1951100BatalaGENGurbachan SinghMINC13790Rewail SinghMIND6488

Last Updated on March 11, 2017

Track your constituency