Track your constituency

Live News

Varanasi Election Results

Varanasi General (Lok Sabha) Election Results

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Varanasi Parliamentary Constituency Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Narendra ModiBharatiya Janata Party67466463.62Winner
Shalini YadavSamajwadi Party19515918.42nd Runner-up
Ajay RaiIndian National Congress15254814.383rd Runner-up

Varanasi Parliamentary Constituency (General) Election Results 2014

Candidate NamePartyNo. of VotesResult
Narendra ModiBJP581022Winner
Arvind KejriwalAAP2092381st Runner Up
Ajay RaiINC756142nd Runner Up
Vijay Prakash JaisawalBSP605793rd Runner Up

Electoral Data for 2014 General Elections in Varanasi Constituency, Uttar Pradesh

Total no. of votersVoters who polledPercentage voting

Varanasi Assembly Elections Result

Assembly ConstituencyWinnerPartyVotesRunner UpPartyVotes2nd Runner UpPartyVotes
RohaniyaAnupriya Patel AD57717Ramakant Singh BSP40117Manoj Rai Dhoopchandi SP26033
SevapuriSurendra Singh Patel SP56780Neel Ratan Patel 'Neelu' AD36902Manish Kumar Singh BSP32240
Varaasi Cantt.Jyotsana Srivastava BJP57744Anil Srivastwa INC44943Ashfaq Ahmad Alias Dablu SP37872
Varanasi NorthRavindra Jaiswal BJP47746Sujit Kumar Maurya BSP45464Abdul Samad SP37333
Varanasi SouthShyamdev Roy Chaudhari (Dada) BJP57773Dr. Dayashankar Mishra Dayalu INC43989Atahar Jamal Lari QED20452

Varanasi Parliamentary Constituency(General) Election Results 2009

Dr. Murli Manohar JoshiBJP203122Winner
Mukhtar AnsariBSP1859111st Runner Up
Ajay RaiSP1238262nd Runner Up

Electoral Data for 2009 General Elections in Varanasi Constituency, Uttar Pradesh

Total no. of VotersVoters PolledPercentage

Last Updated on May 28, 2019