Track your constituency

Live News

Ludhiana Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Ludhiana Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ravneet Singh BittuIndian National Congress383284051138379536.66Winner
Simarjeet Singh BainsLok Insaaf Party306786063730742329.361st Runner-up
Maheshinder Singh GrewalShiromani Akali Dal298963047229943528.62nd Runner-up
Prof. Tej Pal Singh GillAam Aadmi Party157940151159451.523rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above10458080105381.014th Runner-up
Devinder BhagriaHindustan Shakti Sena35930135940.345th Runner-up
Baba Amarjit Singh KhalsaBhartiya Lok Seva Dal317104032110.316th Runner-up
Jai Parkash Jain (Titu Baniya)Independent27230327260.267th Runner-up
Baba Sukhwinder Singh GillNationalist Congress Party1992011221040.28th Runner-up
Mohd. Naseem AnsariRashtriya Sahara Party18670418710.189th Runner-up
Baljit SinghBharat Prabhat Party16330716400.1610th Runner-up
Daljit SinghPeople'S Party Of India(Secular)15930415970.1511th Runner-up
Jasdeep Singh SodhiIndependent15330215350.1512th Runner-up
Ravinder Pal Singh (Baba Ji Burger Wale)Independent13570213590.1313th Runner-up
Darshan Singh DabaJai Jawan Jai Kisan Party133501113460.1314th Runner-up
Er. Baldev Raj KatnaNationalist Justice Party13260213280.1315th Runner-up
Dildar SinghAmbedkarite Party Of India124401012540.1216th Runner-up
Dr. Brijesh Kumar BangarPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)11690611750.1117th Runner-up
Pardeep BawaSamaj Adhikar Kalyan Party11580011580.1118th Runner-up
Bintu Kumar Taank ( B.K. Taank)Ambedkar National Congress10570310600.119th Runner-up
Rajinder GhaiHindu Samaj Party10100410140.120th Runner-up
Vaid Ram Singh DeapakBahujan Mukti Party948049520.0921th Runner-up
Mohinder SinghIndependent894018950.0922th Runner-up

Ludhiana Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies of Punjab. Formed before the 1951 elections, it has nine Vidhan Sabha segments. The Ludhiana Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 7) consists of 1,309,308 number of electorates in totality, of these 693,114 are males and 616,194 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

Quick facts for Gurdaspur

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party INC
MPRavneet Singh Bittu
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6931146161941309308
Polling stations1328

The city of Ludhiana is the largest city of the state with an area of over 310 sq km and has a population of over 17,40,000. It is located 100 km away from Chandigarh on the earlier banks of River Sutlej at an elevation of over 260 metres. About 52% of the population comprises of males and the city has a sex ratio of 845 females per 1,000 males. About 11% of the total population is under the age of six. Ludhiana has a 49% Sikh majority followed by 47% Hindus.

With a literacy rate of over 80%, Ludhiana is an important education hub for the state. It houses Asia’s largest university of agriculture apart from the many engineering, medical, arts, sciences and law colleges .It also has a very modern school system and has several private and public schools. The city is one of the most commercialized areas of the country and is the largest centre of the continent for bicycle manufacturing as well as a major producer of automobile parts. The textile and agriculture industry is also very well developed here. The Grand Trunk Road connects the city to several major cities of the country.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ludhiana Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ludhiana parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ludhiana constituency is Shri Ravneet Singh Bittu of INC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20147LudhianaGENRavneet Singh BittuMINC300459Harvinder Singh PhoolkaMAAP280750
20097LudhianaGENTewari,Shri Manish MINC449264Gurcharan Singh GalibMSAD335558
20049LudhianaGENSharanjit Singh DhillonMSAD329234Manish TewariMINC299694
19999LudhianaGENGurcharan Singh GalibMINC346928Amrik Singh AliwalMSAD241682
19989LudhianaGENAmrik Singh AliwalMSAD370115Gurcharan Singh GalibMINC360903
19969LudhianaGENAmrik Singh AliwalMSAD356157Jaswant KaurMINC284907
19929LudhianaGENGurcharan Singh GalibMINC108811Krishan Kant JainMBJP55363
19899LudhianaGENRajinder Kaur Bulara FSAD(M)357349Gurcharan Singh GalibMINC223620
19859LudhianaGENMewa SinghMSAD273352Joginder Pali PandeyMINC273212
198010LudhianaGENDevinder Singh GarchaMINC(I)262183Balbir SinghMSAD196677
19779LudhianaGENJagdev Singh TalwandiMSAD296119Devinder Singh GarchaMINC192525
19719LudhianaGENDevinder Singh GarchaMINC200597Kapur Singh MSAD127491
19679LudhianaGEND. SinghMINC132660M. Singh MADS119586
196214LudhianaGENKapur SinghMAD110386Mangal Singh MINC108516
195715LudhianaGENBahadur Singh MINC248810Sant Singh MCPI140018
195715LudhianaGENAjit SinghMINC233108Piara SinghMCPI134632
*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ludhiana Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ludhiana parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Ludhiana EastLudhiana SouthAtam Nagar
Ludhiana CentralLudhiana WestLudhiana North
Gill (SC)DakhaJagraon (SC)

Last Updated on June 28, 2019