Track your constituency
Live News

Rita Bahuguna Joshi Biography

Rita Bahuguna Joshi

Rita Bahuguna Joshi

Elected fromLucknow Cantonment
Political PartyBharatiya Janata Party
Date of Birth22/07/1949
Place of BirthAllahabad
EducationUniversity of Allahabad
Marital StatusMarried
Spouse(s)PC Joshi
ChildrenMayank Joshi
Father's NameHemvati Nandan Bahuguna
Mother's NameKamla Bahuguna
Position HeldCabinet Minister of Women Welfare, Family Welfare, Maternity and Child Welfare and Tourism, Government of Uttar Pradesh (19 March 2017)

About Rita Bahuguna

Rita Bahuguna Joshi is a seasoned Indian politician. She was with the Indian National Congress for 24 years before leaving the the party in 2016 to join the Bharatiya Janata Party. She is currently serving as MLA from Lucknow Cantt. constituency in Uttar Pradesh state legislative assembly. She was born to Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna and Kamla Bahaguna on 22 July, 1949 and has two brothers. Her father had formerly served as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. She holds a doctorate in History and is a professor at the University of Allahabad. She received the United Nations Award of Excellence for being among the 'Most Distinguished Women in South Asia'. Rita Bahuguna Joshi is married to P.C. Joshi and the couple has a son. Her brother Vijay Bahuguna is a former Uttarakhand Chief Minister.

Political Career of Rita Bahuguna Joshi

  • Mayor of Allahabad from 1995 to 2000
  • President of the All India Mahila Congress from 2003 to 2007
  • Vice-president of the National Council of Women
  • President of the Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee from 2007 to 2012
  • Arrested for making derogatory remarks against the then Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati
  • Arrested by the state police in 2011 along with Rahul Gandhi and Digvijay Singh for joining a farmers' agitation against the then state government
  • Elected Member of the Legislative Assembly from Lucknow Cantonment assembly constituency in 2012
  • Contested 2014 Lok Sabha elections unsuccessfully from Lucknow
  • Joined the BJP in 2016 after 24 years with Congress

Last Updated on Aug 28, 2020