Track your constituency

Live News

Chhattisgarh Election Commission

About Election Commission of Chhattisgarh

India consists of 28 states and 7 Union territories. Each state has its state election commission that ensures the free and fair conduction of elections within the state.

The election commission of Chhattisgarh is a relatively a new state election commission. It was founded on 1st November 2000 after Chhattisgarh was carved out of the large state of Madhya Pradesh in the year 2000. Chhattisgarh consists of 27 districts over which the Chhattisgarh state election commission exercises its authority.

Under the provisions of the Constitution (Seventy-third Amendment) Act, 1992 and the Constitution (Seventy-fourth Amendment) Act, 1992, the State Election Commissions and the State Election Commissioners are entrusted with supervising the preparation of the electoral rolls for the groundwork and conduct of the elections to Panchayats and Municipalities. Lawful elections form the basic framework of a democratic entity anywhere in the world. The Chhattisgarh State Election Commission ensures this framework functions effectively in Chattisgarh.

History and formation

The Chattisgarh State Election Commission was set up after the new state was formed on 1stNovember 2000,with the mandate to conduct fair and transparent elections in the state.

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Chhattisgarh

The present Chief Electoral Officer of Chhattisgarh is a senior IAS officer, Shri Subrat Sahoo.

Appointed Officers

1. Mr. A. Champawat, Collector
2. Mr. R. Prasanna, Collector
3. Mr. C. R. Prasanna, Collector
4. Mr. S. V. Hassan, Collector
5. Mr. L. S. Kane, Collector
6. Mr. R. Kumar, Collector
7. Mr. R. P. S. Tyagi, Collector
8. Mr. T. C. Mahabar, Collector
9. Mr. M. Bansal, Collector

10. Mr. R. Kumar, Collector
11. Mr. T. Ramsingh, Collector
12. Mr. S. K. Pardesi, Collector
13. Mr. V. S. Dhubay, Collector
14. Mr. N. S. Mandavi, Collector
15. Mr. R. K. Tappa, Collector
16. Mr. H. K. Pahare, Collector
17. Ms. R. Sangeeta, Collector
18. Ms. A. Mangai, District Collector
19. Mr. K. C. Devsenapati, Collector
20. Mr. A. K. Tappa, Collector
21. Mr. B. C. Mishra, Collector
22. Mr. S. Baswabraju, Collector
23. Mr. A. K. Agarwal, Collector
24. Mr. B. Dayanand, Collector
25. Mr. Y. Kumar, Collector
26. Mr. A. K. Khalkho, Collector
27. Mr. M. K. Abdulhaq, Collector

Schedule and Budget of election

The budgetary allocations for the forthcoming state Assembly elections in the state have not been decided so far. A few constraints so far have held back the announcement of the Chhattisgarh election budget which is expected to be announced shortly. On the other hand, the Election Commission of India has declared the date of elections in the state which will be held in 2 phases, November 12 and November 20 - 2018. The political parties are geared up and are ensuring that nothing is left unturned in this election. The election commission as intneded before as announced elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Mizoram and Telagana together

Chhattisgarh State Election Commission,
Mahanadi Khand,
Mantralaya, Raipur - 492001
Ph: 0771-2236235

Last Updated on November 2, 2018