Who will Win Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017?
News at a Glance
Amidst BJP-Congress tussle, Amit Shah, Smriti Irani and Ahmed Patel wins the Upper House seats form Gujarat. | BJP to challenge Election Commission's invalidation of votes decision in court. | Electronic Voting Machines To Have Paper Trail In Gujarat Assembly Polls

Gujarat Opinion Poll

As the tenure of the current legislative assembly in Gujarat expires in December 2017, assembly elections in the state will be held again towards the end of 2017 or in January, 2018. The BJP won convincingly in the last assembly elections while the Congress was the runner-up. The Patel community has emerged as an important component of the state's electorate over the last couple of years because of Hardik Patel's agitation and this is something that the main opposition Congress in the state is trying to bank upon. Needless to say, losing Gujarat to Congress would be a big setback for the BJP ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections which it will try to avoid at all costs.

A number of pollsters and media agencies have conducted opinion polls and surveys to make an estimate of voters' sentiments and understand which party is in a better position to win the next Gujarat Assembly elections.

Gujarat Opinion Poll by Indiatrendingnow

While the BJP is projected to get 47% of the vote share, the Congress' projection is 40% and the AAP just 2%. A snap poll by Indiatrendingnow conducted between 15 and 25 October 2016 has predicted a bigger voting share for BJP. According to it, the BJP is going to get 51.8% of the vote share, the Congress 26.3% and AAP 9.9%.

Political PartyVote Share
Can't Say10%

Survey by the Gujarat state unit of Congress

An internal survey by the Gujarat state unit of Congress in September, 2016 has revealed that the BJP may win 97 of the 182 seats in the 2017 Gujarat assembly elections. The survey goes on to say that the Congress may win a maximum of 85 seats. Sources quoting the report noted that the BJP would certainly get 52 seats mostly in urban areas and had 80-85% chance of winning another 45 seats.

RSS internal survey Result on Gujarat Election 2017

The RSS also conducted an internal survey in August 2016 to gauge voters' sentiments following the Dalit agitation in Una. The survey threw up disappointing results for the ruling BJP in Gujarat. The party was projected to win about 60 to 65 seats out of the total 182 seats in the state assembly.

Gujarat Opinion Poll by VDPAssociates

According to a survey conducted by VDP Associates, ruling party BJP is in a slightly better position than the Congress to win the elections.

Political PartyVote Share
Undecided/Don't Know yet7%

Opinion Poll of Other States Election
Punjab Opinion Poll 2017
Goa Opinion Poll 2017
Manipur Opinion Poll 2017
Uttarakhand Opinion Poll 2017
Uttar Pradesh Opinion Poll 2017

Last Updated on Jan 10, 2017

Track your constituency