Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Gandhinagar Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Immensely significant in the political spectrum of the entire nation, the Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat is one of the 26 Parliamentary constituencies which represent the state of Gujarat. The Gandhinagar Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 6) has a total of 1,555,709 electorates out of which 756,045 are females and 799,664 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It covers the entire Gandhinagar District in the central-eastern parts of the state, whose administrative capital is the city of Gandhinagar.

It is also significant as Gandhinagar, lying on the west bank of the Sabarmati River, is Gujarat’s new capital city. With the District’s population being 1,387,478 (2011 census), the Gandhinagar parliamentary constituency is one of the most important urban centres of Gujarat. The economy of the district is primarily dependent on a strong base of heavy industries managed by the Gujarat Industrial Development Corporation. A flourishing thermal power station in Gandhinagar also adds to the revenue. Political stalwarts such as former Deputy Prime Minister Lal Krishna Advani of the BJP and many others were elected MPs from this seat, making this seat historically significant. The major tourist attractions are Akshardham Temple, Gujarat International Finance Tec-City (GIFT) Tower (which is the state’s tallest building), Sarita Udyan, Deer Park and Mahatma Mandir, among others.

Gandhinagar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Gandhinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

>CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Amit ShahBharatiya Janata Party8899250469989462469.67Winner
Dr. C. J. ChavdaIndian National Congress3340820352833761026.291st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above139840230142141.112nd Runner-up
Vora Alimahmad RajabhaiIndependent90060290080.73rd Runner-up
Jayendra Karshanbhai RathodBahujan Samaj Party633506564000.54th Runner-up
Shekh Shahinbanu Molana MustakIndependent58910458950.465th Runner-up
Rathod Valjibhai BecharbhaiIndependent26610326640.216th Runner-up
Patel Amarish Jasvantlal (C. A.)Hindusthan Nirman Dal171802317410.147th Runner-up
Makwana Anilkumar SomabhaiIndependent16860516910.138th Runner-up
Mahendrabhai Somabhai PatniIndependent15570215590.129th Runner-up
Bhogilal J. Rathod (Advocate)Bahujan Mukti Party147002014900.1210th Runner-up
Makvana Prakashbhai Bahecharji (Hitubha)Garvi Gujarat Party145401714710.1111th Runner-up
Chandrapal Hasmukh BavjibhaiPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)14340414380.1112th Runner-up
Rahul Chimanbhai MehtaRight To Recall Party10890810970.0913th Runner-up
Narendrabhai Revashankar TrivediJan Satya Path Party880088880.0714th Runner-up
Pathan Firozkhan SaeedkhanIndependent860028620.0715th Runner-up
Dr. N. T. SengalBahujan Suraksha Dal734097430.0616th Runner-up
Khodabhai Lalajibhai DesaiIndependent687086950.0517th Runner-up

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Gandhinagar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Gandhinagar constituency is Shri Lal Krishna Advani of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20146GandhinagarGENL.K.Advani M BJP 773539 Kiritbhai Ishvarbhai Patel M INC 290418
20096GandhinagarGENAdvani,Shri Lal Krishna MBJP434044Patel Sureshkumar ChaturdasMINC312297
200411GandhinagarGENL. K. AdvaniMBJP516120Gabhaji Mangaji ThakorMINC298982
199911GandhinagarGENLal Krishna Advani (L K Advani)MBJP453229T N SeshanMINC264285
199811GandhinagarGENAdvani LalkrishnaMBJP541340P. K. DattaMINC264639
199611GandhinagarGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP323583Popatlal V. PatelMINC134711
1996By PollsGandhinagarGENPatel Vijay Harischandra MBJP258589Rajesh Khanna MINC197425
199111GandhinagarGENLal Krishna AdvaniMBJP356902G.I. PatelMINC231223
198911GandhinagarGENVeghela Shankarji LaxmanjiMBJP495383Kokila VayasFINC226891
198411GandhinagarGENG.I.PatelMINC250126Indubhai Chaturbhai PatelMJNP247372
198011GandhinagarGENAmrit Mohanal PatelMINC(I)241694Puroshottam Ganesh NavalankarMJNP192477
197711GandhinagarGENPurushottam Ganesh MavalankarMBLD221967Govindbhai C. PatelMINC161850
197110Gandhinagar(SC)Somchandbhai Manubhai SolankiMNCO139417Narsinhbhai Karsanbhai Makwana MINC135915
196710Gandhinagar(SC)S.M. SolankiMINC156148K.U. ParmarMRPI126308

Facts about current sitting MP of Gandhinagar Constituency

Name of MP Shri Lal Krishna Advani
Age 91
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Law Graduate
Activities of Shri Lal Krishna Advani in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 5
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Gandhinagar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Gandhinagar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Gandhinagar NorthKalolSanand

Last Updated on March 24, 2020