Track your constituency

Gujarat Election Commission

About Gujarat Election Commission

The State Election Commission of Gujarat is the supreme body in the state which looks after the process of various types of elections (General, Mid-Term, By-election) to the state assembly, municipal councils and corporations, and the gram panchayats as well. The Election Commission of Gujarat also supervises the whole process of election in the state. The Gujarat State Election Commission was constituted under Article 243K of the Indian Constitution in September 1993.

As per the 73rd and 74th amendment to the Constitution of India, part -IX and IXA were introduced under which the State Election Commission covered the provisions concerned with panchayats and Municipal bodies respectively.

State Election Commissioner of Gujarat

Dr. Varesh Sinha is the State Election Commissioner of the state of Gujarat. A retired IAS officer of 1977 batch of Gujarat cadre, Dr. Sinha has previously served various important posts at the state level in Gujrata as Chief Secretary of the state,Additional Chief Secretary, Home and Labour and Employment, Additional Chief Secretary of Finance, Principal Secretary of Education. He has also worked in Agri-Business, Tourism, Education, Energy, Urban, Panchayat, Home, Finance, Labour and so on.

Dr. Sinha is a Science graduate and did his masters in Mathematical Statistics. He is also an MBA and has attained a doctorate (Ph.D) degree in statistics.

Office of the Election Commissioner of Gujarat

Office Address: State Election Commission, Sardar Patel Bhavan, Sector-10, Block 9,
Sixth Floor Gandhi Nagar, Gujarat- 382010
Contact No.: (0) 079-23252149
Fax: 079-23252307
Gujarat Election Commission Website :

Last Updated on April 11, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…