Track your constituency

Vadodara Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Surendranagar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Vadodara Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ranjanben BhattBharatiya Janata Party8809050281488371972.3Winner
Prashant Patel (Tiko)Indian National Congress2930800146229454224.11st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above16901098169991.392nd Runner-up
Rohit Madhusudan MohanbhaiBahujan Samaj Party742902974580.613rd Runner-up
Sindhi Mahebubkhan Yusufkhan (Vakil)Independent44540344570.364th Runner-up
Gohil RinkuYuva Jan Jagriti Party38050638110.315th Runner-up
Dr. Rahul Vasudevbhai VyasIndependent34570034570.286th Runner-up
Lion Dr. Yasinali PolraNew All India Congress Party17910417950.157th Runner-up
Patel Kalidas (Kalidas M. Patel Alias Napoleon)Independent14290214310.128th Runner-up
Jat Subhas Singh BrijlalAll India Hindustan Congress Party10930410970.099th Runner-up
Nimesh Patel (Kamrol)Independent9470169630.0810th Runner-up
Tapan DasguptaSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)888018890.0711th Runner-up
Mohsimmiya (Saiyad Mohsin Bapu)Bahujan Mukti Party871018720.0712th Runner-up
Santosh S. SolankiBhartiya Manavadhikaar Federal Party856028580.0713th Runner-up

Vadodara City Bye Elections

The major parties in Gujarat, BJP and Congress, are making their strategies for the by-polls to be held in Vadodara on September 13. Congress nominated Narendra Rawat to contest Vadodara seat. BJP is yet to announce the name of its candidate. PM Narendra Modi who won the Lok Sabha elections from both Varanasi and Vadodara, resigned from Vadodara, thus necessitating the by-polls.

For BJP it is not only a power play but also the fight for party reputation to retain the seat. On the other hand, the Congress will try to win the seat to boost the declining morale of the party members.

Vadodara Lok Sabha Election Summary

BJP have always had a strong hold in this eastern city of Gujarat, Vadodara(Baroda), but in this 2014 general election Vododara witnessed a fierce competition between the BJP's prime ministerial candidate Mr. Narendra Modi and many others. Few of the prominent candidates were Congress' Madhusudan Mistry, AAP's Sunil Digambar Kulkarni and JD(U)'s Jadav Ambalal Kanabhai.

It was Narendra Modi of BJP who won the Lok Sabha seat this time.

BJP's candidate Narendra Modi won the election by a resounding 845464 votes, defeating Madhusudan Mistry by a margin of 570128 votes. In third place, Sunil Digambar Kulkarni won a total of 10101 votes.

In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections the BJP's candidate Balkrishna Khanderao Shukla had won with a the majority of 4,28,833 votes out of the total votes 7,47,129 and a whopping vote share of 57.40%.

Before Mr. Shukla, BJP's candidate Jayaben Thakkar had been contesting and winning in the constituency since 1998.

Congress' candidate Gaekwad Satyajitsinh Dulipsinh had come second in list with 2,92,805 votes comprising of 39.19% of the total vote share. Vadodara saw the independent candidate Vasava Harilal Shanabhai coming third with 9,896 votes comprising 1.32% votes of the total.

Candidates highlighted the civic issues enveloping the constituency. The focus of campaigning was on issues related to drinking water, sanitation and the poor conditions of the road. Another important problem highlighted in campaigning was the proper maintenance of the river Vishwamitri which flows through the city.

Vadodara is the other constituency from where BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi will contest the Lok Sabha elections, the first being Varanasi. Vadodara's sitting BJP MP Balkrishna Shukla expressed his happiness over party's decision. "Modi is my political guru. He had encouraged me to contest the 2009 Lok Sabha polls when I was still the city mayor. I am very happy to vacate my seat for him.

I have already communicated my willingness to the party leadership," Shukla said. He also asserted that Modi would win the seat with a whopping majority. Shukla won the 2009 Lok Sabha elections with a huge margin of 1.32 lakh votes substituting the three times seating MP Jataben Thakkar.

It is expected that Modi's candidature from Vadodara will increase the voter turnout across Gujarat, especially central Gujarat.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Vadodara Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Vadodara parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Vadodara constituency is Narendra Modi of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201420VadodaraGENNarendra ModiMBJP845464Mistri Madhusudan DevramMINC275336
200920VadodaraGENShukla ,Shri Balkrishna Khanderao MBJP428833Gaekwad Satyajitsinh DulipsinhMINC292805

Facts about current sitting MP of Vadodara Constituency

Name of MP Smt. Ranjanben Dhananjay Bhatt
Age 56
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 16/09/2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Female
Educational Qualification Inter/Higher Secondary
Activities of Smt. Ranjanben Dhananjay Bhatt in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 24
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 303
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Vadodara Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Vadodara parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SavliVaghodiaVadodara City (SC)

Last Updated on March 26, 2020

Latest Election News and Update

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…