Track your constituency

Surat Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Congress By-Poll Reasons for Congress Drubbing in Karnataka By-Polls 2019

As many as 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women were in the fray for the 15 assembly seats. The BJP and the opposition Congress had contesting in all the Read More…

BJP Karnataka By-Poll Win BJP’s clean sweep in Karnataka By-Polls

It was a victorious Monday for BJP when it won 12 out of 15 seats in Karnataka by-elections on 9th December 2019. Now, the Yediyurappa government stands stronger than before Read More…

Karnataka By-Elections Live Results Karnataka By-Election Results Live Updates

KARNATAKA BY-ELECTIONS RESULTS SUMMARY Karnataka By-Polls Results: BJP:12, INC:2, JD(S):0, INDEPENDENT:1 With BJP en-route a mammoth victory in the Karntaka bypolls, chief minister B.S. Yediyurappa is set to retain his Read More…

Uddhav Thackeray The Political Expedition of Uddhav Thackeray

Uddhav Thackeray – The current chief minister of the state of Maharashtra took the first step in politics with the help of his powerful father Blasaheb Thackeray. How unbelievable it Read More…

ByElection Opinion Poll 2019 The Exit Polls seem to secure the Yedurappa Government.

On 5th December 2019, By-polls were held for 15 seats of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. While the results will be declared on 9th December, Karnataka Exit Polls have suggested a Read More…

Karnataka ByPoll Uncertain Times Mire Karnataka Polity

The Supreme Court with its decision that upheld former Karnataka assembly speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar to disqualify 17 rebel Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) legislators for defection but defected MLA’s can contest elections, Supreme Court by this Read More…

The Parliamentary constituency of Surat plays a larger role not only in Gujarat, but in the overall politics of the country. This seat has witnessed some of the most prominent political leaders as Members of Parliament, such as former Prime Minister of the country Morarji Desai as well as a BJP veteran leader Kashiram Rana. The Surat Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 24) consists of 1,420,969 number of electorates in totality, of these 786,573 are males and 634,396 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

Situated in the Surat District, this constituency has the city of Surat as its administrative headquarters, which is the second-largest city of the Gujarat. This constituency came into existence in 1951. Being being one of the most historically prominent regions of Surat, it has several important tourist destinations, such as Surat Fort, Sardar Patel Museum, Dutch Garden, Vansada National Park, Chintamani Jain Temple, Unai Hot Spring, the golden beaches of Ubharat and Tithal, Jawaharlal Nehru Garden, and Parsi Agiary. Over 4.5 million people reside in the Surat District, making this region one of the most densely populated regions of the state. The economy thrives on rich industrial production of diamonds, textiles and the flourishing diamond-studded gold jewellery. Surat’s economy also flourishes on fabric production, which contributes to 40% of the revenue in the district.

Surat Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Darshana Vikram JardoshBharatiya Janata Party7941330151879565174.47Winner
Ashok Patel (Adhevada)Indian National Congress246978044324742123.161st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above10464068105320.992nd Runner-up
Adv. Vijay ShenmareCommunist Party Of India57320357350.543rd Runner-up
Surwade Santosh Avdhut (Gabbar)Independent23480023480.224th Runner-up
Rameshbhai P. Baraiya (Pati)Independent10560110570.15th Runner-up
Mahyavanshi Natvarbhai DahyabhaiIndependent10150510200.16th Runner-up
Dinesh Jikadra PrajapatiIndependent10040910130.097th Runner-up
Shri. Gautamraj HindustaniYuva Sarkar721017220.078th Runner-up
Dipak GanganiIndependent716017170.079th Runner-up
Captain Rita MaaPyramid Party Of India642016430.0610th Runner-up
Jogiya Amisha VikrambhaiSanyukt Vikas Party606016070.0611th Runner-up
Dhameliya Piyush Vallabhbhai (R.D.P)Real Democracy Party532005320.0512th Runner-up
Tulsibhai Laxmanbhai DakharaIndependent412024140.0413th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Surat Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Surat parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Surat constituency is Jardosh Darshnaben Vikrambhai of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201424SuratGENJardosh Darshnaben Vikrambhai F BJP 718412 Desai Naishadhbhai Bhupatbhai M INC 185222
200924SuratGENJardosh,Smt. Darshana Vikram FBJP364947Gajera Dhirubhai HaribhaiMINC290149
200424SuratGENKashiram RanaMBJP508076Chandravadan Chhotubhai PithawalaMINC357513
199924SuratGENKashiram RanaMBJP423773Rupin Rameshchandra PatchigarMINC174576
199824SuratGENKashiram RanaMBJP564601Thakorbhai NaikMINC260579
199624SuratGENKashiram RanaMBJP376933Kotadia ManubhaiMINC201672
199124SuratGENKashiram RanaMBJP336285Chaudhary Sahdev BherabhaiMINC229931
198924SuratGENKashiram RanaMBJP428465C.D.PatelMINC234424
198424SuratGENPatel Chhaganbhai DevabhaiMINC286928Rana Kashiram ChhabildasMBJP236253
198024SuratGENPatel Chhaganbhai DevabhaiMINC(I)234263Ashok Ranjitram MehtaMJNP207602
197724SuratGENDesai Morarji RanchhodjiMBLD206206Chauhan Jashvantsingh Dan SinghMINC184746
197122SuratGENMorarji Ranchhodji DesaiMNCO170321Gordhandas Ranchhoddas ChokhawalaMINC138797
196722SuratGENM.R. DesaiMINC163836J.D. Chauhan MIND40928
196221SuratGENMorarji Ranchhodji DesaiMINC165225Jaswantsinh Dansinh Chauhan MIND66194
195720SuratGENDesai Morarji RanchhodjiMINC190563Mehta Dinkarrao Krishnalal MIND39076
195111Surat-1GENDesai Kanhaiyalal NanabhaiMINC244016Desai Ishwarlal Chhotubhai MSP126233
195111Surat-2GENPatel Bahadurbhai Kuthabhai MINC229295Malvi Malubhai Rudabhai MSP116466

List of Assembly Constituenciesin Surat Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Surat parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
OlpadSurat EastSurat North
Varachha RoadKaranjKatargam
Surat West 

Last Updated on July 13, 2019