Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Tankara (Gujarat) Assembly Constituency Elections

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Tankara assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Tankara Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Kagathara Lalitbhai Karamshibhai (won by:29770)
Political Party -

Tankara Election Results 2017

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2017 Vidhan Sabha Election in Tankara Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2017 BJP RunnerUpRaghavajibhai Jivarajbhai Gadara 64320
2017 INC WinnerKagathara Lalitbhai Karamshibhai 94090

List of candidates for Tankara Constituency 2017

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Tankara Assembly Constituency in the Gujarat Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2017.

Tankara , Constituency No -(66)
Election Date2017-12-09 
Result Date2017-12-18 
PhasePhase I 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPShekhva Veljibhai Nathubhai
BJP BJP Raghavajibhai Jivarajbhai Gadara
INC INC Kagathara Lalitbhai Karamshibhai
INDINDAmrutiya Harsukhbhai Ratnabhai
INDINDAatresha Rameshbhai Shivabhai
INDINDKhodabhai Jagabhai Panchiya
INDINDSatubha Amarsang Jadeja
INDINDSadatiya Amrutlal Devshibhai
RPIRPIParmar Nirmlaben Kamleshbhai
All India Hindustan Congress PartyAll India Hindustan Congress PartyBavarva Narendra Chunilal
BBCBBCVanol Kesharben Valjibhai

About Tankara Assembly (Vidha Sabha) Constituency– Bye Elections 2014

Tankara assembly constituency is located in Morbi district of Gujarat, where byelection will be held on September 13, 2014 and counting will be done
on September 16. Organising this election got necessitated after sitting MLA of BJP, Mohanbhai Kundariya, got elected to Lok Sabha last May and the seat became vacant. During 2012 assembly election, he won over Maganbhai Vadaviya of INC by 15,404 votes. Tankara has been a stronghold of Gujarat’s ruling party for decades. During the upcoming byelection, there will be straight contest between BJP and Congress candidates. While Bavnjibhai Patel is BJP candidate, Lalitkumar Kagthara is the Congress candidate from Tankara. There is a great setback for INC in  Tankara assembly constituency even before filing nomination. Congress Chief of Morbi district joined BJP along with 45 Congress workers.

Total voters in Tankara assembly segment is 2,08,855 among which 1,00,322 are female voters and 1,08,533 male voters. There is a sizeable Muslim population in this assembly seat. Two major caste communities here are Kolis and Leuva Patels. SC and ST population accounts for around 10 per cent of the population. Development has become a key issue during the elections in recent times in Tankara assembly constituency.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Tankara Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Tankara assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201766TankaraGENKagathara LalitbhaiMINC94090Raghavajibhai Jivarajbhai GadaraMBJP64320
2014 (By Poll)66TankaraGENMetaliya Bavanjibhai HansrajbhaiMBJP65833Kagathra Lalitbhai KaramashibhaiMINC54102
201266TankaraGENMohanbhai Kalyanjibhai KundariyaMBJP63630Vadaviya Maganbhai DhanjibhaiMINC48223
200714TankaraGENMohanbhai Kalyanjibhai KundariyaMBJP66215Brijesh MerjaMINC47120
200214TankaraGENKundariya Mohanbhai Kalyanji MBJP62251Kagathara Lalitkumar KaramshibhaiMINC51398
199814TankaraGENKundariya Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai MBJP52321Boda Vaghjibhai RugnathbhaiMINC41705
199514TankaraGENKundariya Mohan Kalyanji MBJP53866Boda Vaghjibhai RughnathbhaiMINC44861
199014TankaraGENKeshubhai Savdas Patel MBJP48015Boda Vaghjibhai RugnathbhaiMJD23341
198514TankaraGENPatel Vallabhbhai PopatbhaiMINC57888Ruparelia Mohan Lal DevjibhaiMBJP6577
198014TankaraGENPatel Vallabhbhai PopatlalMIND32686Gondalia Thakarshi NanjiMINC(I)16199
197514TankaraGENBoda Govindbhai JethabhaiMKLP24458Lunagariya Mavibhai PunjabhaiMINC22639
197213TankaraGENBoda Govind JethMIND16742V Jaysukhlal ShahMINC13825
196713TankaraGENV. J. ShahFINC13104M. R. RanpuraMBJS10209

Also check the list of current Gujarat MLAs from other constituencies...
Last Updated on July 27, 2015

Track your constituency