Track Your Constituency

Akola Election Results 2014

Akola Parliamentary Constituency 2014 Election Results

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2014 lok sabha election in Akola.

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2014 BJP WinnerDhotre Sanjay Shamrao 456472
2014 INC Runner UpPatel Hidayat Ulla Barkat Ulla 253356
YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2009 BJPWinnerDhotre,Shri Sanjay Shamrao 287526

List of candidates of Akola constituency for 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Akola Constituency in the Maharashtra General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

Akola , Constituency No -(6)
Election Date10/04/2014 
Result Date16/05/2014 
Election SymbolPartyCandidate Name
BSPBhai B.C. Kamble
AAPAjay Panjabrao Hinglekar
BJP Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
INC Patel Hidayat Ulla Barkat Ulla
INDSandip Kisanrao Wankhede

BBMAmbedkar Prakash Yashwant

BMPShaikh Hameed Imam

One of the 48 constituencies of Maharashtra, Akola was formed before the 1951 elections and has six Vidhan Sabha segments, of which two are reserved for the SC category. The Akola Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 6) consists of 1,480,606 number of electorates in totality, of these 768,569 are males and 712,037 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. The city of Akola is the centre of administration of the Akola District and lies in the Vidarbha region, 250 kms away from Nagpur bordered by the districts of Amravati, Washim and Buldhana. The Melghat Hills lie to the north of the city which has an altitude of about 280 metres and the city sprawls over an area of 60 sq kms.

As per the 2011 census, Akola city had a population of over 4,27,000 with 13% being under the age of six. 52% of the population comprises of males and the sex ratio is 958 females per 1,000 males. Marathi is the official language here. The average literacy rate is about 92% with male and female literacy rates at 94% and 87% respectively.

The city has several private and public schools, mostly affiliated with the state board of Maharashtra. Many colleges are located here which offer degrees in science, commerce, arts, medical sciences, engineering and law, including a famous agricultural university. The main economic activities include agriculture, IT engineering and cotton production. National Highway NH-6, State Highways SH-68 and SH-69 pass through the city and connect it to a large road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Akola Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Akola parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Akola constituency is Shri Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPSexPartyVoteRunner Up MPSexPartyVote
20146AkolaGENDhotre Sanjay ShamraoMBJP456472Patel Hidayat Ulla Barkat UllaMINC253356
20096AkolaGENDhotre,Shri Sanjay Shamrao MBJP287526Ambedkar Prakash YashwantMBBM222678
200419AkolaGENDhotre Sanjay ShamraoMBJP313323Laxmanrao TayadeMINC206952
199919AkolaGENAmbedkar Prakash YashwantMBBM272243Fundkar Pandurang PundlikMBJP263527
199819AkolaGENAmbedkar Prakash YashawantMRPI366427Fundkar Pandurang PundlikMBJP333645
199619AkolaGENPhundkar Pandurang PundlikMBJP221094Ambedkar Prakash YeshwantMRPI212041
199119AkolaGENFundkar Pandurang PundlikMBJP201800Gangane Sudakar RamkrishnaMINC156687
198919AkolaGENPhundkar Pandurang PundlikMBJP322384Azhar HussainMINC171015
198419AkolaGENMadhusudan Atmaram VairaleMINC178874Ambedkar Prakash YeshwantMIND165064
198019AkolaGENVairale Madhusudan AtmaramMINC(I)199050Mo. A. Razak Noor MahammedMINC(U)95025
197719AkolaGENSathe Vasantrao PurushottamMINC208468Lahane Motiram UdaybhanjiMBLD146969
1972Bye PolAkolaGENS.V.PurushottamMINC247023K.S.ShambhujiMRPK65393
197118AkolaGENK. M. Asgar Hussain SardarkhanMINC255162Motiram Udebhan Lahane MBJS88713
196718AkolaGENK. M. A. H. SardarkhanMINC188248S. S. Khandare MRPI141953
196229AkolaGENMohammad Mohibbul Haq Mohammad Anwarul HaqMINC135226Brijlal Nandlal Biyani MIND88057

Facts about current sitting MP of Akola Constituency

Name of MP Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre
Age 55
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-14 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 5
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 79
Attendance 85% Verdict

Note : (Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 23 Dec 2014.)

List of Assembly Constituencies in Akola Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Akola parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
AkotBalapurAkola West
Akola EastMurtizapur (SC)Risod

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright All right reserved