Will the BJP beat the Congress in Karnataka?
News at a Glance
Karnataka Elections

Marpadi Veerappa Moily Biography

Who is Marpadi Veerappa Moily

Full Name Marpadi Veerappa Moily
Age 74
DOB Jan 12, 1940
Place of Birth Marpadi Village, Moodbidri, Dakshina Kannada District, Karnataka
Political Party INC.
Religion Hindu.
EducationB.A from Government College, Hampankatta Mangalore city, B.L. from University Law College, Bengaluru.
Profession before joining politicsLawyer, currently senior partner in Moily Associates law firm.
Spouse Name Malathi Moily
Children 3 daughters & 1 son.
Important positions heldMinister for Small Scale Industries, Govt. of Karnataka from 1974 to 1977, Minister for Finance and Planning, Govt. of Karnataka from 1980 to 1982, Minister for Law, Youth Service, Culture, Information, Parliamentary Affairs and Education, Govt. of Karnataka from 1989-1992, Chief Minister of Karnataka from 19 November 1992 to 11 December 1994, Minister of Law and Justice from 28 May 2009 to 28 May 2011, Minister of Power from 31 July 2012 to 28 October 2012, Minister of Corporate Affairs from 13 July 2011 from 28 October 2012, Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas from 28 October 2012 onwards.
Achievements Honorary doctorate awarded by Mangalore University, Russian Academy & NALSAR, Hyderabad. Books published : Sri Ramayana Mahanveshanam - 5 volumes, Musings of India - 2 volumes, Collection of Poems - 5 volumes. Ameen Sadbhavana Award in 2000, Devaraj Urs Prashasthi in 2001, Aryabhatta Award in 2001, Dr. B.R Ambedkar Award in 2002 & Moortidevi Award in 2010.
Marpadi Veerappa Moily

You may also like to read
Know about Ajay Maken
Know Political Journey of Ahmed Patel
Know about Elections in India

Status of Marpadi Veerappa Moily and his opponent candidates against from Chikkaballapur Parliamentary Constituency in Karnataka

The table below shows the status of Marpadi Veerappa Moily and candidates contesting against him from Chikkaballapur lok sabha seat with their party names and symbols along with the votes secured by each candidate.

Candidate NamePolitical PartySymbolStatusvotes
M Veerappa Molly INC INC  -- 424800
Chitra PrasadBSPBSP--N.A
Yakub ShariffBMP--N.A
H D Kumara SwamyJD(S)JD(S)--N.A
D N NarasimhamurthyINDIND--N.A
G.V. Sreerama ReddyCPMCPM--N.A
H N Ramakrishna ReddyPPOI--N.A
Reddy G K CJD(U)JD(U)--N.A
Venkatesh D TINDIND--N.A
B N GopalagowdaINDIND--N.A
B N Bache Gowda BJP BJP  -- 415280
G C VenkataramanappaRPI(A)--N.A
Robin Mathews NarekattuSPSP--N.A
T V Manjunatha GowdaINDIND--N.A
Jayaprakasha YadavINDIND--N.A

Last Updated on 22 April, 2018.

Track your constituency