Which Party will get the majority in Himachal Pradesh Election Results?
News at a Glance
Kerala Malappuram by Election Result: Congress-led-UDF candidate P.K KUNHALIKUTTY wins by 171023 votes.
Live updates on Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat Assembly Elections Result 2017

Ponnani Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

The parliamentary constituency of Ponnani, is a pivotal vote bank of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) which has continuously represented this seat from as early as the Lok Sabha elections of 1977. is It covers a portion of the Malappuram district, which is one of the three districts of the Central Travancore region in the southern coastal state of Kerala. The Ponnani Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 7) has a total of
997,075 electorates out of which 522,848 are females and 474,227 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Seven assembly segments make up the parliamentary constituency of Ponnani. Out of these, the coastal town city of Ponnani, which is one of the significant seven Vidhan Sabha segments in his constituency, is a coastal municipality in the Malappuram district.  

The constituency holds a population of 83,704 people, according to the Census of India 2011. This constituency is renowned for its excellent rates of literacy in the state, being an important centre for education in religious philosophies, especially Islam. It is also known as the town of mosques.  

Situated in the Malabar Coast, Ponnani city is one of the oldest ports in the state, contributing substantially to the economy of this constituency through fishing and other trading activities. Agriculture remains the primary aspect of the economic backbone of this constituency, as rice, arecanut and coconut are grown in superior qualities in this region.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ponnani Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ponnani parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ponnani constituency is Shri E. T. Mohammed Basheer of IUML.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20147PonnaniGENE. T. Mohammed Basheer M IUML 378503 V.Abdurahman M IND 353093
20097PonnaniGENBasheer,Shri E. T. Mohammed MIUML385801Dr. Hussain RandathaniMIND303117
20046PonnaniGENE. AhammedMMUL354051P P SuneerMCPI251293
19996PonnaniGENG.M. BanatwallaMMUL372572P.P. SuneerMCPI243094
19986PonnaniGENG.M. BanatwallaMMUL344461Minu MumthasMCPI240217
19966PonnaniGENG.M.BanatwallaMMUL354808Mokkath RahmathullaMCPI275513
19916PonnaniGENEbrahim Sulaiman SaitMMUL339766Kattisseri Hamza KunjuMCPI244060
19896PonnaniGENG. M. Banat WaliaMMUL378347M. RahmathuliaMCPI270828
19846PonnaniGENG. M. BanatwallaMMUL288216Koladi GovindankuttyMCPI185890
19806PonnaniGENBanatwala Gulam MehmoodMMUL222834Ariadan MohamedMINC(U)171971
19776PonnaniGENG. M. BanatwalaMMUL269491M. Moideen Kutty HajiMMLO151945
19716Ponnani(SC)M. K. KrishnanMCPM146186K. KunhambuMINC134263
19676Ponnani(SC)C. K. ChakrapaniMCPM157753V. EacharanMINC94973
19627PonnaniGENImbichi Bava EzhukudikkalMCPI128288K. S. Achuthan MINC70489

Facts about current sitting MP of Ponnani Constituency

Name of MP E. T. Mohammed Basheer
Age 68
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-14 to In office
Political Party Indian Union Muslim League
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Inter/ Higher Secondary
Activities of E. T. Mohammed Basheer in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 75
Private member bills passed 4
Questions asked 238
Attendance 81%
Elections.in Verdict

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ponnani Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ponnani parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Tirurangadi Tanur Tirur
Kottakkal Tavanur Ponnani

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency