+ Ernakulam (Kerala) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 - Ernakulam Parliamentary Constituency, Winning MP & Party Name

Track your constituency
Live News

Ernakulam General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Situated in the Ernakulam district of the coastal state of Kerala is the parliamentary constituency of the same name. As one of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in this southern Indian state of Kerala, the Ernakulam parliamentary constituency has remained a stronghold of the Congress since the years of its formation. The Ernakulam Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 12) has a total of 1,023,053 electorates out of which 516,932 are females and 506,121 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. The city of Ernakulam is called the ‘commercial capital of Kerala’. The Ernakulam district houses the metropolitan region of Greater Kochin, which is the largest region in the state.

Known for its academic and educational excellence, the district of Ernakulam is renowned for being the ‘first literate district’ of India in the last decades of the 20th century. K.V. Thomas of the National Congress remains one of the most important leaders of this constituency, and represented this seat as MP for a number of elections. Seven assembly segments make up this Lok Sabha constituency of Ernakulam, none of which are reserved. It being a coastal district, fishing has remained one of the primary occupations. The bulk of the economic prosperity in this constituency is primarily due to the commercial stability of this financial hub of Kerala. Tourism sector has also flourished in this state substantially, thanks to the exquisite natural appeal of Kochi.

Ernakulam Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Hibi EdenIndian National Congress49126350.79Winner
P RajeevCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)32211033.31st Runner-up
Alphons KannanthanamBharatiya Janata Party13774914.242nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above53780.563rd Runner-up
V M FaizalSocial Democratic Party Of India43090.454th Runner-up
P A NiamathullaBahujan Samaj Party13430.145th Runner-up
Abdul Khader VazhakkalaSamajwadi Forward Bloc9320.16th Runner-up
Rajeev NaganAmbedkarite Party Of India8210.087th Runner-up
Laila RasheedIndependent7970.088th Runner-up
KumarIndependent6040.069th Runner-up
SreedharanIndependent5540.0610th Runner-up
Aswathi RajappanIndependent4940.0511th Runner-up
Shajahan AbdulkhadarCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star4700.0512th Runner-up
Adv Vivek K VijayanRashtriya Samaj Paksha3790.0413th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ernakulam Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ernakulam parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ernakulam constituency is Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey Thomas of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201412ErnakulamGENProf. K.V. Thomas M INC 353841 Christy Fernandez M IND 266794
200912ErnakulamGENThomas,Prof. Kuruppassery Varkey MINC342845Sindhu JoyMCPM331055
200411ErnakulamGENDr. Sebastian PaulMIND323042Dr Edward EdezhathMINC252943
2003Bye PolErnakulamGENDr.Sebastian Paul MIND335308M.O.John MINC313176
199911ErnakulamGENAdv. George EdenMINC394058Mani VithayathilMIND282753
199811ErnakulamGENAdv. George EdenMINC389387Dr. Sebastian PaulMIND314879
1997Bye PolErnakulamGENAdv. Sebastian Paul MIND251865Prof. Antony Isaac MINC243172
199611ErnakulamGENXavier ArrakkalMIND335479K.V.ThomasMINC305094
199111ErnakulamGENK.V. ThomasMINC362975V. Viswanatha MenonMCPM315831
198911ErnakulamGENK. V. ThomasMINC385176P. Subramnoian PotiMIND348711
198411ErnakulamGENK. V. ThomasMINC277374A. A. Kochunny MasterMICS207050
198011ErnakulamGENXavier Varghese ArakalMINC(I)189225Henry AustinMINC(U)186723
197711ErnakulamGENHenry AustinMINC227896K. N. RaveendranathMCPM220611
197110ErnakulamGENHenry AustinMINC190602V. Viswanatha Menon MCPM167932
196710ErnakulamGENV. V. MenonMCPM176624A. M. ThomasMINC160018
196210ErnakulamGENA. M. ThomasMINC181105M. M. Abdul KhaderMCPI157706
19578ErnakulamGENThomas ( Alungal )MINC142202Abdul KadarMIND131579

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ernakulam Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ernakulam parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kalamassery Paravur Vypen
Kochi Thrippunithura Ernakulam

Last Updated on March 28, 2020