Track your constituency
Live News

Malappuram General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

About Malappuram Parliamentary Constituency

The Malappuram parliamentary constituency is one of the 20 Lok Sabha seats which represent the South Indian state of Kerala in the Lok Sabha or the Lower House of Parliament. This constituency covers the whole district of Malappuram and holding the Lok Sabha constituency by the same name, constitutes of seven Vidhan Sabha constituencies. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Malappuram Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 6) were 1,019,713 of which 517,937 are females and 501,776 are males. The city of Malappuram is the administrative seat of the eponymous district of Malappuram. With a population as large as 16,98,645 people, and an area spanning 3,000 square kilometers, the district of Malappuram is the fourth largest urban centre in Kerala. The district of Malappuram survives on the revenue generated by NRIs who work in the Middle East, as the remittances of migrated residents to the Middle Eastern countries is massive. Tourism sector is another major economical backbone in this district. Emerging industries in this constituency majorly belong to the trader community of the district, besides the other industries like timber manufacturing also carried out in epic proportions in the Malappuram district.

Malappuram Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
P.K. KunhalikuttyIndian Union Muslim League58987357.01Winner
V.P. SanuCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)32972031.871st Runner-up
UnnikrishnanBharatiya Janata Party823327.962nd Runner-up
Abdul Majeed FaizySocial Democratic Party Of India191061.853rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above44800.434th Runner-up
Nissar MetharIndependent36870.365th Runner-up
Adv. Praveen KumarBahujan Samaj Party22940.226th Runner-up
Sanu N.KIndependent22030.217th Runner-up
Abdul Salam K.PIndependent9230.098th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Malappuram Parliamentary Constituency

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Malappuram parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Malappuram constituency is Shri E. Ahamed of IUML.
Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20146MalappuramGENE. Ahamed M IUML 437723 P.K.Sainaba M CPM 242984
20096MalappuramGENAhamed,Shri E. MIUML427940T.K. HamzaMCPM312343

List of Assembly Constituencies in Malappuram Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Malappuram parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kondotty Manjeri Perinthalmanna
Mankada Malappuram Vengara

Last Updated on July 04, 2020