+ Kottayam (Kerala) Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 - Kottayam Parliamentary Constituency, Winning MP and Party Name

Track your constituency

Kottayam General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

The Kottayam Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 20 parliamentary constituencies which belong to the southern Indian state of Kerala. The total number of electorates in the Kottayam Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 14) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,095,242 of which 544,665 are males and 550,577 are females. This constituency covers the whole of the Kottayam district, which is situated in the south-central regions of the state of Kerala. This constituency has remained a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) for the last few elections, although traditionally this seat was a vote-bank pride of the Congress since its formative years. With the city of Kottayam as its administrative headquarters, this district houses a total population of 1,979,384, as per the 2011 Census records.

Important political leaders from this constituency are K. Suresh Kuruop of the CPIM and Ramesh Chennithala of the Congress, both of whom have been elected as MPs from the Kottayam constituency in more than one Lok Sabha elections. Economy-wise, Kottayam survives on the cultivation of rubber trees and is one of the primary trading centres of natural rubber in Kerala, owing to the highland areas and the suitable climate of the place. Besides, medium and small-scale industries such as latex processing and publishing are scattered in the district, such as St. Mary's Rubbers Private Limited in Koovappally, an MRF unit in Vadavathoor, and others. Out of the seven assembly segments which are part of the Kottayam Parliamentary constituency, Vaikom is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes.

Kottayam Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Thomas ChazhikadanKerala Congress (M)42104646.25Winner
V.N. VasavanCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)31478734.581st Runner-up
Adv. P.C ThomasKerala Congress15513517.042nd Runner-up
Jijo JosephBahujan Samaj Party74030.813rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above71910.794th Runner-up
E.V. PrakashSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)22160.245th Runner-up
Thomas J. NidhiryIndependent14960.166th Runner-up
Ignatious IllimoottilIndependent10650.127th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kottayam Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kottayam parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kottayam constituency is Shri Jose K. Mani of KEC(M).

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201414KottayamGENJose K. Mani M KC(M) 424194 Adv.Mathew T. Thomas M JD(S) 303595
200914KottayamGENMani,Shri Jose K. MKEC(M)404962Adv. Suresh KurupMCPM333392
200413KottayamGENK. Suresh KurupMCPM341213Anto AntonyMINC298299
199913KottayamGENSuresh KurupMCPM344296P.C. ChackoMINC333697
199813KottayamGENSuresh KurupMCPM335893Ramesh ChennithalaMINC330447
199613KottayamGENRemesh ChennithalaMINC344587JayalakshmiMJD277539
199113KottayamGENRamesh ChennithalaMINC366759Thampan ThomasMJD304137
198913KottayamGENRamesh ChennithalaMINC384809Suresh KurupMCPM331276
198413KottayamGENSuresh KurupMCPM264444Skaria ThomasMKEC258591
198013KottayamGENSkaria ThomasMKEC188676K.M. ChandyMINC(I)183301
197713KottayamGENSkariah ThomasMKEC242387Varkey George MKCP173692
197113KottayamGENVarkey GeorgeMKEC167793R. Ramachandran NairMIND141778
196713KottayamGENK. M. AbrahamMCPM145571M. Maniyangadan MINC96990
196212KottayamGENMathew ManiyangadanMINC177811GeorgeMCPI112525
19576KottayamGENMathew ManiyangadanMINC148235Thomas MCPI124799

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kottayam Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kottayam parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Piravom Pala Kaduthuruthy
Vaikom (SC) Ettumanoor Kottayam

Last Updated on March 28, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Chinatamani-Elections.in Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit