Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Changanassery (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Changanassery assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Changanassery Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
C F Thomas (won by: 1849)
Political Party -

Changanassery Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Changanassery Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 INDRunnerUpDr. K C JosephN.A
2016 KEC(M) WinnerC F Thomas 50371

List of candidates for Changanassery Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of BSP, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, IUML, Independent etc. from the Changanassery Assembly Constituency in the Kerala Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Changanassery , Constituency No -(99)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPRaji Rajan
BJPBJPEttumanoor Radhakrishnan
INDINDKunjumon Abraham
INDINDDr. K C Joseph
INDINDAdv. Sojan Paviyanose
KEC(M) KEC(M) C F Thomas
Socialist Democratic Party Of IndiaSocialist Democratic Party Of IndiaAlthaph Hassan
KEC(S)KEC(S)Babu Vargese

About Changanassery Assembly Constituency

Changanassery is constituency No. 99 of Kerala legislative assembly. It is situated in Kottayam district and comes under the Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency. The Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency is reserved for scheduled castes (SC).

According to the Election Commission of India, this assembly seat comprises 1,49,193 registered voters. It includes 72,080 male and 77,113 female registered voters.

In the 2011 Assembly elections, the Kerala Congress (Mani) won this seat by a narrow margin of 2,554 votes. C.F. Thomas, the winning KEC(M) candidate, got 51,019 votes. With 48,465 votes, CPI(M) candidate B. Ekbal emerged the winner. The voter turnout was 72.56 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Changanassery Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Changanassery assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201199ChanganasseryGENC.F ThomasMKEC(M)51019Dr.B.EkbalMCPM48465

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency