• Gujarat(182)
  • Himachal Pradesh(68)
Which Party will get the majority in Himachal Pradesh Election Results?

Gujarat Assembly Election 2017 Voter Turnout:

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election 2017 Voter Turnout:

Elections Results Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh

Assembly Election Results 2017

2012 Gujarat Assembly Election Results

Gujarat Results 2017 - Partywise Seats

Party Won Leading Trailing
2012 Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election Results

Himachal Pradesh Results 2017 - Partywise Seats

Party Won Leading Trailing

Elections in India are the largest democratic electoral exercise in the world. Results of these elections are followed closely as they have a direct bearing on the lives of its 1.25 billion people and more. This website is committed to providing all the necessary information and updates related to politics, elections and all the factors that contribute to government formation in India, the largest democracy in the world.

The beginning of 2017 witnessed elections being held in the five states of Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand. The elections were held between February 4 and March 8, 2017. November and December will witness Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh going to the polls. The upcoming Gujarat assembly elections will witness high-staked political contest between the two leading parties, BJP and Congress. While from the last 22 years BJP is in power, Congress aspires to triumph in the Gujarat elections 2017 by winning over the Patidar vote.

The poll will be conducted in two phases: 9 December 2017 and 14 December 2017. Efficient management will be ensured with VVPATs and EVMs. For the first time in Gujarat elections, a total of 102 polling stations will be manned completely by women. The votes will be counted on 18 December 2017. The current 182 member assembly's term will come to end on 23 January 2018.

Himachal Pradesh elections 2017 was conducted on 9 November 2017. About 74% of voters turnout was recorded on the polling day. The state is currently under the rule of Congress with 38 seats in the assembly. BJP, the opposition party, however seems upbeat and is aiming for over 50 seats in the 68 seat assembly house.

A first for the hill state, all the polling stations used voting machines fitted with VVPATs to ensure a high level of transparency. The counting of votes will be on 18 December 2017. The current term of the Legislative Assembly will end on 7 January 2018.

In 2018, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Tripura, Nagaland, and Mizoram will go to the polls. The Lok Sabha polls will be held in 2019 and it remains to be seen whether the BJP will be able to emerge victorious the second time.

Election System in India

Types of Elections in India

Following are the major types of elections in the country:
  • Elections to Lok Sabha
  • Elections to Rajya Sabha
  • Elections to State Assemblies
  • Elections to Legislative Council
  • Elections to the posts of President, Vice-President.
  • Elections to Local Bodies
    • Municipal Corporation
    • Gram Panchayat Elections
    • Zila Panchayat Elections
    • Block Panchayat Elections

Right to Vote
The Constituent Assembly adopted the principle of universal adult franchise as the main method of democratic representation in the Lok Sabha and in the State Legislative Assemblies. The original Article 326, providing for adult suffrage fixed the age of eligibility to vote for elections to the Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabhas, at 21 years, but by the 61st Amendment to this clause passed in 1989, it has been reduced to 18 years.

Election Process in India
In an election, various candidates of different parties contest against each other, out of which the people elect their representative. The stages of the election process of India include delimitation of constituencies wherein the entire area (the whole country in the case of Lok Sabha elections and
that particular state in the case of Legislative Assembly elections) is divided into constituencies. After the demarcation of constituency, the voters' list of each constituency is prepared and published and nomination papers are filed by the candidates. Thereafter, nomination papers are scrutinised. The next stage is the campaign by all the candidates and the parties. The election campaign ends 48 hours before the polling. The last step is the counting of votes and declaration of result.

Political Parties in India
A political party is a group of people who want to achieve common goals by contesting elections and exercising political power upon winning. India has a multi-party system. Some of the major political parties in India are: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress, Bahujan Samaj party (BSP), Samajwadi Party, Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD),Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Janata Dal United (JDU), Shiv Sena. There are also various regional parties in India.
Election Results History

Having commenced in the year 1951, elections in India are held after every five years. The PM is elected by the LS members after each election.

Assembly Election Results

Held every five years, MLAs are chosen by the people in Assembly Elections in different states. The Chief Minister is selected by the MLAs thereupon.

Track your Polling Booths

Track the polling booth you are enlisted to cast your vote. Click on the state name to know the name and number of the polling booth.

Track your constituency
Play Quiz On Quiz on Gujarat Politics
Play Quiz On Quiz on himachal-pradesh Politics
For Business Associations / Promotions
Please contact : K N Ajit Narayan
9871399003      ajit@infobase.in