Track your constituency

Nilgiris Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Congress By-Poll Reasons for Congress Drubbing in Karnataka By-Polls 2019

As many as 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women were in the fray for the 15 assembly seats. The BJP and the opposition Congress had contesting in all the Read More…

BJP Karnataka By-Poll Win BJP’s clean sweep in Karnataka By-Polls

It was a victorious Monday for BJP when it won 12 out of 15 seats in Karnataka by-elections on 9th December 2019. Now, the Yediyurappa government stands stronger than before Read More…

Karnataka By-Elections Live Results Karnataka By-Election Results Live Updates

KARNATAKA BY-ELECTIONS RESULTS SUMMARY Karnataka By-Polls Results: BJP:12, INC:2, JD(S):0, INDEPENDENT:1 With BJP en-route a mammoth victory in the Karntaka bypolls, chief minister B.S. Yediyurappa is set to retain his Read More…

Uddhav Thackeray The Political Expedition of Uddhav Thackeray

Uddhav Thackeray – The current chief minister of the state of Maharashtra took the first step in politics with the help of his powerful father Blasaheb Thackeray. How unbelievable it Read More…

ByElection Opinion Poll 2019 The Exit Polls seem to secure the Yedurappa Government.

On 5th December 2019, By-polls were held for 15 seats of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. While the results will be declared on 9th December, Karnataka Exit Polls have suggested a Read More…

Karnataka ByPoll Uncertain Times Mire Karnataka Polity

The Supreme Court with its decision that upheld former Karnataka assembly speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar to disqualify 17 rebel Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) legislators for defection but defected MLA’s can contest elections, Supreme Court by this Read More…

Reserved for the SC category, the constituency of Nilgiris is one of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies of Tamil Nadu formed in the year 1952. It comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments and the constituency has over 1,000,000 voters. The Nilgiris Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 19) has a total of 1,003,168 electorates out of which 498,761 are females and 504,407 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. The Nilgiris District comprises of six talukas with its headquarters in the city of Ooty. It sprawls over an area of 5,352 sq km. Situated completely in a mountain range; it has an average elevation of 2,789 m. It lies on the western border of the state along Kerala.

According to the India census data of 2011, Nilgiris District has a population of 735,394 of which 48% comprises of males and 52% comprises of females. Between 2001 and 2011, the population decreased at a rate of 3.51% and the population density recorded here is 287 people per sq km making it the second least populous district of Tamil Nadu. 9% comprises of the child population and the sex ratio is 1042 females for every 1000 males. The district has an average literacy rate of 86% with male and female literacy rates being 92% and 79% respectively. Tamil and English are the most prevalent languages here although Badaga is also spoken by the locals. Horticulture and tourism are the primary economic activities here with cultivation of tea, coffee and eucalyptus being common.

Nilgiris Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Nilgiris Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Nilgiris parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Nilgiris constituency is Shri Gopalakrishnan, C. of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201419Nilgiris(SC)Gopalakrishnan, C.MAIADMK463700Raja, A.MDMK358760
200919Nilgiris(SC)Raja,Shri Andimuthu MDMK316802Krishnan CMMDMK230781
200418NilgirisGENPrabhu R.MINC494121Master Mathan. MMBJP257619
199918NilgirisGENMathan, M. (Alias) Master Mathan, M.MBJP369828Prabhu, R.MINC345869
199818NilgirisGENMathan M. Alias Master Mathan M.MBJP322818Balasubramoniyan S.R.MTMC(M)262433
199618NilgirisGENBalasubramaniyan S.R.MTMC(M)475515R.PrabhuMINC194139
199118NilgirisGENPrabhu R.MINC387707Doraisamy S.MDMK206905
198918NilgirisGENPrabhu, R.MINC455411Mahalingam, S.A.MDMK281640
198418NilgirisGENR.PrabhuMINC341824C.T. DhandapaniMDMK209885
198018NilgirisGENPrabhu R.MINC(I)273614Thippiah T.T.S.MJNP187871
197718NilgirisGENRamalingam P.S.MADK241777Nanja Gowder M.K.MNCO182431
197117NilgirisGENJ. Matha GowderMDMK215654Akkamma Devi FNCO154560

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Nilgiris Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Nilgiris parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Bhavanisagar (SC)UdhagamandalamGudalur (SC)
CoonoorMettupalayamAvanashi (SC)

Last Updated on July 6, 2019