Track your constituency

Live News

Dindigul Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Dindigul is one of the 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu which was formed in 1952. 1,085,696 is the total electorate count in the Dindigul Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 22). Out of these 542,520 number of electorates are males and the remaining 543,176 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It has six legislative assembly segments, one of which is reserved for the SC category and over 1,080,000 voters belong to this constituency. Dindigul Town is the administrative center of Dindigul District which has an area of over 6,000 sq km. It is divided into 8 talukas and is bordered by Kerala.

According to India 2011 census data, Dindigul houses 2,160,000 with a 51% make majority. The district had a population growth rate of approximately 13% and it currently has a population density of 360 per sq km. Children occupy 10% of the population and the sex ratio is 998 females per 1000 males. The district has an average literacy rate of 77% with male literacy rate of 84% and female literacy rate of 69%. Tamil and English are the official languages here. Being one of the 250 most backward districts of India, it receives monetary aid from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. Almost all the people are involved in agriculture. The district is connected to the National Highways NH-7, NH-49 and NH-209.

Dindigul Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Velusamy, P.Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam7438130271074652364.35Winner
Jothimuthu, K.Pattali Makkal Katchi206782076920755117.891st Runner-up
Jothi Murugan,P.Independent627190156628755.422nd Runner-up
Mansoorali Khan, A.Naam Tamilar Katchi545740383549574.743rd Runner-up
Suthakaran, S. Dr.Makkal Needhi Maiam385860198387843.344th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above140510126141771.225th Runner-up
Arasur Manoharan (A) Mnoharan, SBahujan Samaj Party570403957430.56th Runner-up
Vetrivel, N.Independent39030039030.347th Runner-up
Nagaraj , MIndependent32890232910.288th Runner-up
Pandi, M.Independent31090231110.279th Runner-up
Ananthraj, T.Independent30220030220.2610th Runner-up
Eswaran, R.Independent27590527640.2411th Runner-up
Suresh. K,Ulzaipali Makkal Katchy219801022080.1912th Runner-up
Arun Kumar,A.Independent17970718040.1613th Runner-up
Murugesan, S .P,Independent15150115160.1314th Runner-up
Dineshkumar, M.Independent14150314180.1215th Runner-up
Anburose. D,Independent13150913240.1116th Runner-up
Udayakumar,A.Independent11750611810.117th Runner-up
Vembarasan. V,Independent11240211260.118th Runner-up
Irudayasamy, G.Independent10590510640.0919th Runner-up
Shanmuga Prabu,K.Independent849048530.0720th Runner-up
Velusamy, P.Independent849028510.0721th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Dindigul Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Dindigul parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Dindigul constituency is Shri Udhaya Kumar .M of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201422DindigulGENUdhaya Kumar .MMAIADMK510462Gandhirajan SMDMK382617
200922DindigulGENChitthan,Shri N.S.V. MINC361545Baalasubramani PMADMK307198
200423DindigulGENChitthan, N. S. V.MINC407116Jeyaraman. MMADMK251945
199923DindigulGENSreenivaasan, C.MADMK294794Chandrasekar, S.MDMK274451
199823DindigulGENSreenivaasan C.MADMK276106Chitthan N.S.V.MTMC(M)260907
199123DindigulGENC. SrinivasanMADK416652K. Maya ThevarMDMK192235
198923DindigulGENSrinivasan, C.MADK434966Varatharajan, NMCPM199598
198423DindigulGENK.R. NatarajanMADK343571K.Maya ThevarMDMK202253
198023DindigulGENMaya Thevar K.MDMK244669Rajan Chellappa V.MADK217923
197723DindigulGENMaya Thevar K.MADK283341Balasubramanyam A.MCPM114117
197123DindigulGENM. RajangamMDMK248638K. Chemachamy MSWA151003

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Dindigul Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dindigul parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Palani Oddanchatram Athoor
Nilakkottai (SC) Natham Dindigul

Last Updated on July 5, 2019