About Athoor Assembly Constituency

Athoor is constituency No. 129 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is situated in Dindigul district and comes under the Dindigul Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, Athoor has 2,26,859 registered voters. It comprises 1,12,691 male and 1,14,168 female registered voters.

In the 2011 Assembly elections, the DMK won this seat by a formidable margin of 53,932 votes. Periyasamy I., the winning candidate from DMK, got a whopping 1,12,751 votes. With 58,819 votes, the nearest contender was Balasubramani S. of DMDK. The voter turnout was 83.79 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Athoor Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Athoor assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2001149AthoorGENNatarajaan. P.K.T.MADMK64053Periasamy. IMDMK60447
1996149AthoorGENPeriasamy, I.MDMK82294Chinnamuthu, C.MADMK32002
1991149AthoorGENDurai S. M.MADK81394Periyasamy I.MDMK35297
1989149AthoorGENPeriasamy., I.MDMK37469Abdul Kadhar, N.MINC33733
1984149AthoorGENNedunchezhiyan V. R.MADK67178Rajambal K.FDMK37605
1980149AthoorGENVellaisamy, A.MADK55359RajambalFDMK38990
1977149AthoorGENA. VellaisamyMADK31590A.M.T. NachiappanMDMK13938
1971145AthoorGENNachiappan A. M. T.MDMK42195Lakshmanan T. P. S.MNCO25467

Last Updated on May 13, 2016