Track your constituency

Live News

Viluppuram Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Connection failed: Access denied for user 'elect_eleciondb'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

The Lok Sabha Constituency of Viluppuram is one of the 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu and is reserved for the SC category. It was formed after the 2008 delimitation of constituencies and has six legislative segments and 1,068,171 voters. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Viluppuram Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 13) were 1,068,171 of which 526,372 are females and 541,799 are males. The town of Viluppuram is located in the Viluppuram District about 160 km from Chennai. The district has nine talukas covering an area of 7,194 at a height of 171 m.

It has a population of 3,458,873 with about 1,741,000 being males and the district has a sex ratio of 987 females for every 1000 males. The population density is 481 inhabitants per sq km and the population growth rate was 16.84% over the decade 2001-2011. Viluppuram has a child population of 404,106. Its average literacy rate is 72% with 81% male literacy and 63% female literacy. Prevalent languages in the area include Tamil and English. The district is given financial aid by the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme and is one of the country’s 250 most backward districts in terms of economy. The road network of the district includes several National Highways, NH-45, NH-45A, NH-45C and NH-234.

Vellore Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ravikumar DDravida Munnetra Kazhagam5566750291055958549.28Winner
Vadivel Ravanan SPattali Makkal Katchi43009101426431517381st Runner-up
Ganapathy NIndependent57939080580195.112nd Runner-up
Prakalatha DNaam Tamilar Katchi244800129246092.173rd Runner-up
Anbin Poyyamozhi SMakkal Needhi Maiam17819072178911.584th Runner-up
Arasan KIndependent1277803127811.135th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above11882061119431.056th Runner-up
Abirami PTamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi471902047390.427th Runner-up
Rajasekaran MIndependent43160643220.388th Runner-up
Kaliyamoorthy GBahujan Samaj Party391702639430.359th Runner-up
Raja SAgila India Makkal Kazhagam25290325320.2210th Runner-up
Desingu AIndependent13480213500.1211th Runner-up
Anbalagan TIndependent13120213140.1212th Runner-up
Kathirvel MIndependent994019950.0913th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Viluppuram Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Viluppuram parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Viluppuram constituency is Shri Rajendran S of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201413Viluppuram(SC)Rajendran SMAIADMK482704Muthaiyan K DrMDMK289337
200913Viluppuram(SC)Anandan,Shri K. Murugesan MAIADMK306826Swamidurai KMVCK304029

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Viluppuram Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Viluppuram parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Tindivanam (SC)Vanur (SC)Villupuram

Last Updated on July 6, 2019