Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Coimbatore South (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Coimbatore-south assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Coimbatore-south Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Arjunan Alias Amman Arjunan,K. (won by: 17419)
Political Party -

Coimbatore South Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Coimbatore South Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AIADMK WinnerArjunan Alias Amman Arjunan,K. 59788
2016 INC RunnerUpMayura Jayakumar,S. 42369

List of candidates for Coimbatore South Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AIADMK, BJP, DMK, Congress, DMDK, PMK, Independent etc. from the Coimbatore South Assembly Constituency in the Tamil nadu Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Coimbatore South , Constituency No -(120)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
AIADMK AIADMK Arjunan Alias Amman Arjunan,K.
BJPBJPVanathi Srinivasan
INC INC Mayura Jayakumar,S.
INDINDAbdul Salam,A.
Naam Tamilar KatchiNaam Tamilar KatchiBenjamin Franklin,P.

About Coimbatore (South) Assembly Constituency

Coimbatore (South) is constituency No. 120 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is in Coimbatore district and it comes under the parliamentary constituency that goes by the same name.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Coimbatore (South) has 2,00,261 registered voters. It has 1,00,794 male and 99,467 female voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the AIADMK won this seat for the third consecutive term by a formidable margin of 27,796 votes. The winning candidate, Doraiswamy R., got 80,637 votes. His main contender, Pongalur Palanisamy N. of DMK, got 52,841 votes. The voter turnout was 71.59 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Coimbatore South Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Coimbatore South assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2011120Coimbatore SouthGENDoraiswamy R Alias Challenger DoraiMAIADMK80637Pongalur Palanisamy NMDMK52841

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency