Track your constituency

Baramulla Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Rahul hid Income info from Election Commission: New BJP Salvo

BJP on Sunday accused Congress president Rahul Gandhi of hiding facts about his income from the Election Commission and alleged that he made huge profits through highly inflated rentals and Read More…

Loksabha Elections 2019 Amit Shah says that Election is Modi vs Faceless Opposition

Dubbing the Lok Sabha elections as a contest between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a ‘faceless’ alliance of opposition parties, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah, on Sunday, appealed Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

A vote-bank bastion of the regional political outfit Jammu and Kashmir National Conference, the Baramulla Parliamentary constituency is one of the six Lok Sabha seats in J&K. The total number of electorates in the Baramulla Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,054,496 of which 550,443 are males and 504,053 are females.

Quick facts for Baramulla

Assembly Constituencies 15
Ruling Party JKPDP
MPMuzaffar Hussain Baig
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals5504435040531054496
Polling stations1468

It is spread over the districts of Kupwara, Baramulla and Bandipur. Fifteen Vidhan Sabha segments comprise this constituency, out of which Uri, Pattan, Sopore, Baramulla, Gulmarg, Rafiabad and Sangrama are in the Baramulla district, while Karnah, Kupwara, Handwara, Lolab and Langate are part of the Kupwara district. The remaining three segments are part of the Bandipur district. The city of Baramulla, which is the fifth most populous town in the state, is the administrative headquarters of the Baramulla district. The economy of this constituency is dependent on strong agricultural production as this region is famous for being the largest producer of superior-quality horticultural products, such as apples, which are exported to all parts of the world.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Baramulla parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Baramulla constituency is Shri Muzaffar Hussain Baig of PDP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141BaramullaGENMuzaffar Hussain Baig M PDP 175277 Sharief Ud-Din Shariq M JKNPP 146058
20091BaramullaGENShariq,Shri Sharifuddin MJKN203022Mohd. Dilawar MirMJKPDP138208
20041BaramullaGENAbdul Rashid ShaheenMJKN127653Nizam-Uddin BhatMJKPDP117758
19991BaramullaGENAbdul Rashid ShaheenMJKN84243Muzaffar Hussain BaigMIND48130
19981BaramullaGENProfessor Saifuddin SozMJKN131164Muzaffar Hussain BaigMIND93179
19961BaramullaGENGh. Rasool KarMINC110331Gh. Nabi MirMIND45350
19891BaramullaGENSaif Ud Din SozeMJKN35139Sheikh Ad. RahmanMIND719
19841BaramullaGENSaif -Ud- Din SozMJKN234357Mohi -Ud -Din -WaniMIND93938
19801BaramullaGENKhawaja Mubarak ShahMJKN178533Muzaffar Hussain BegMIND75256
19771BaramullaGENAbdul AhadMJKN147222Syed Alishah GeelaniMIND100202
19711BaramullaGENSyed Ahmad AgaMINC93041Syed Ali Shah Gilani MIND78543
19671BaramullaGENS.A. AghaMINC101769A.G. MalikMJKN81254

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Baramulla Constituency

Name of MP Shri Muzaffar Hussain Baig
Age 72
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May 2014 to In office
Political Party Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification LL.M.
Activities of Shri Muzaffar Hussain Baig in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 2
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 19
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Baramulla parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on February 24, 2015