Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Jammu General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

The Lok Sabha constituency of Jammu is among the six in the northernmost state of Jammu and Kashmir. This is a politically significant seat in the overall context, as Jammu is the winter capital of the state.

Quick facts for Jammu

Assembly Constituencies 20
Ruling Party BJP
MPJugal Kishore
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals8890918308061719897
Polling stations2210

The total number of electorates in the Jammu Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 6) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,719,897 of which 889,091 are males and 830,806 are females. This Lok Sabha seat came into existence in the year 1967. It has been a stronghold of the Congress from its formative years, although the Bharatiya Janata Party has won a few times. This constituency covers the geographic locales of four of the 22 districts that belong to Jammu and Kashmir: Jammu, Rajauri, Samba and Poonch. As many as twenty Vidhan Sabha segments comprise this seat of Jammu. Out of these assembly segments, 11 fall in the Jammu district, 3 in the Poonch district, 2 in the Samba district, and 4 in the Rajauri district. Known as the City of Rocks, the Jammu city is the administrative headquarters of the Jammu district. Although the tourism sector forms the economic backbone of this region, many of these districts have been identified as economically backward by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj, and receive regular funds under the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jammu Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jammu parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jammu constituency is Shri Jugal Kishore of BJP.

PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20146JammuGENJugal Kishore M BJP 619995 Madan Lal Sharma M INC 362715
20096JammuGENShri Madan Lal SharmaMINC382305Lila Karan SharmaMBJP260932
20046JammuGENShri. Madan Lal SharmaMINC319994Dr. Nirmal SinghMBJP302426
2002By PollsJammuGENChowdhary Talib Hussain MJKN253891Dr.Nirmal Singh MBJP198402
19996JammuGENVishno Datt SharmaMBJP289412Rajinder Singh ChibMJKN147393
19986JammuGENVaid Vishno DuttMBJP336472Janak Raj GuptaMJKN208571
19966JammuGENMangat Ram SharmaMINC194228Vaid Vishno DuttMBJP147495
19896JammuGENJanak Rai GuptaMINC239701Rajinder Singh ChibMJD218006
19846JammuGENJanak Raj GuptaMINC262796Shabir Ahmed SalariaMJKN142604
19806JammuGENGirdhari Lal DograMINC(I)249760Thakur Baldev Singh MJKN115503
19776JammuGENThakur Baldev SinghMIND153837Balraj PuriMJKN125898
19716JammuGENInderjit MalhotraMINC169009Abdul RehmanMBJS84213
19676JammuGENI.J. MalhotraMINC139036A. Rehman MBJS80868

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jammu Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jammu parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Samba (SC)R S PuraDarhal
Vijay PurSuchet GarhRajauri
NagrotaMarhKala Kote
Gandhi NagarRaipur DomanaSurankote
Jammu EastAkhnoorMendhar
Jammu WestChhamb (SC)Poonch-Haveli

Last Updated on June 26, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit