Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Punjab Assembly Elections 2017 Polling Live Updates

Sangrur(Punjab): Repolling underway, polling percentage of 33.69% recorded till 11am. Source: ANI

The Punjab government has announced a holiday in the five districts which are undergoing re-polling on Thursday.

Repolling underway at Majitha. Bikram Singh Majithia casts his vote Source: ANI

Re-polling underway in Amritsar, Moga, Muktsar, Mansa and Sangrur districts, where the re-poll has been ordered. Voting will continue till 5 p.m.

Re-polling begins in 48 polling stations of Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency and the five assembly segments

Punjab Elections 2017: 70% voter turnout till 5 PM

Voters reporting at 5 pm can cast their vote: Election Commission of India

Voting closes at 5 pm, no change in time, CEO clarifies after a meeting with AAP leaders. "Polling in Goa is scheduled from 7 am to 5 pm whereas in Punjab it is 8 am to 5 pm. This is discrimination with Punjabis," says Sanjay Singh. "A large number of voters have failed to cast vote." Source: tribuneindia

The voting started around 45 minutes late at two polling booths in Jalandhar and Amritsar due to technical glitches in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

Polling started an hour late in Punjab today due to inclement weather. Source: ANI

Punjab Elections 2017: 66% voter turnout till 4 pm

The 2012 assembly polls witnessed a 78 per cent voter turnout. Source: timesofindia

Party wise contesting candidates in Punjab Assembly Election 2017: Congress: 116; AAP: 112; SAD: 94; BJP: 23; BSP: 110

Prakash Singh Badal, the chief minister of Punjab on the election day in Punjab tagged Captain Amarinder Singh as “dal badlu” and expressed confidence that they would win the Punjab elections.

A serious law and order situation arises in Guru Harshay constituency in Ferozpur of Punjab where two youth bikers fire in the air and run away on their bikes near a polling station.

Punjab Elections 2017: 56% voter turnout till 3 PM

Bike borne men open fire near a polling booth in Ferozepur district's Guru Har Sahai area, no injuries. Source: ANI

Punjab Elections 2017: 48% voter turnout till 2:30 pm

Congress chief minister candidate Captain Amarinder Singh casts his vote in Patiala.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal has called AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal an ISI agent; appeals to voters to reject him and his party in hustings

Navjot Singh Siddhu, who recently joined congress broke the rule as he took his vehicle inside the polling station.

Slow polling in Punjab. Model polling stations in Patiala give first time voters red carpet and certificate.

Lalu Prasad Yadav says that he feels that the BJP would lose both Punjab and Goa

Punjab Elections 2017: 33% voter turnout till 1 pm

Cricketer turned politician who has recently joined the congress party was seen at the polling station; talking to reporters he said that congress revival in Punjab would be their gift to Rahul Gandhi.

BJP-Akali Dal will win and Parkash Singh Badal will become the CM for the sixth time: BJP's Hans Raj Hans: Source - ANI

Punjab has recorded an overall voter turnout of 14% till 11.30 AM

We'll have a bigger win than last time, Amarinder Singh is only drama & AAP is on 3rd position: Sukhbir Singh Badal Source: ANI

12 percent voters exercise their franchise till 10.30 AM. ques seen outside the many polling stations as voter turnout increases

Preneet Kaur, wife of the congress chief minister candidate Captain Amarinder singh has said that she was confident of the congress victory as the atmosphere was very positive and charged with enthusiasm

9 percent voters exercised their franchise till 9 AM in Pathankot

EVM failure reported from various constituencies in Punjab. The voting was disrupted in Amritsar, Jalandhar, Majitha

A total number of eight percent voters have exercised their franchise in Punjab till 9.30 AM

Overall polling percentage of 8% recorded in Punjab Assembly election till 9:30 A.M

People wait in queues at voting is yet to begin at booth no 35 in Majitha, due to error in EVM machine : Source - ANI

Congress candidate Pargat Singh casts his vote at booth no. 66 in Jalandhar. Source: ANI

Sucha Singh Chhotepur of Apna Punjab Party casts his vote..

voting delayed in Amaritsar by 30 minutes due to evm failure

Snag in voting machine in Mohali, booth no 126 delays voting

Long queues of voters at booth no. 66 in Jalandhar after polling delayed due to glitch in the EVM machine. ANI

Prime Minister urges young voters to turn up in record numbers to vote in Punjab.

Gurdaspur (Punjab): Sucha Singh Chhotepur casts his vote. ANI

Polling at booth no.124-125 in Amritsar began 40 minutes late due to a glitch in the EVM machine. ANI

1145 candidates to contest across 117 seats in Punjab Assembly.

Gen JJ Singh (Retd) SAD candidate against Congress' Amarinder Singh from Patiala Urban, casts his vote. ANI

Polling for assembly elections to be held in Punjab for 117 seats; has started at 8 am.

By-election to Amritsar Lok Amritsar will also poll on Saturday.

Key contestants: Punjab Congress Chief Amarinder Singh (Patiala and Lambi seats), Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal (Lambi) and his son Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal (Jalalabad), AAP MP Bhagwant Mann (Jalalabad), Revenue Minister Bikram Singh Majithia (Majitha) and Navjot Singh Sidhu as Congress candidate from Amritsar East Assembly seat.

BJP contesting only 23 seats in the state while its ally SAD has fielded candidates in 94 seats.

Aam Aadmi Party has fielded its candidates in 112 seats.

22,615 polling stations have been set up across the state. While 83 Assembly seats are of general category, 34 have been demarcated as reserved - Source: timesofindia

In Punjab, out of the total electorate of 1,98,79,069 in the state, there are 93,75,546 women and 415 transgenders.

1.98 crore people will be eligible to vote.

Polling will be held on Saturday to elect the 117-member

As per ECI, Only five Assembly seats, Atmanagar, Ludhiana East, Ludhiana North, Amritsar North and Jallandhar West will be covered by ETPBS (Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System).

Punjab will go for Assembly polls on 4 February

Track your constituency
For Business Associations image
For Business Associations / Promotions
Please contact : Nitesh Kumar
Phone No Image 9871399003     mailer icon image nitesh@infobase.in