Track your constituency

Live News

South Goa Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

AAP Delhi Election Results AAP Maintains Lead in Delhi Assembly Elections Results 2020

Vote counting is underway for Delhi Election Result 2020. The tension is heightened up for the real outcome of the election. As per the latest updates, Aam Aadmi Party is Read More…

Delhi Election Results 2020 - Live News Updates Delhi Election Results 2020: Live News Updates

  DELHI ELECTION RESULTS 2020 LIVE 7:21:21 PM Result Declared Chhatarpur: Kartar Singh Tanwar of AAP won by 3720 votes. Karol Bagh: Vishesh Ravi of AAP won by 31760 votes. Read More…

Delhi Exit Poll Highlights Exit Polls Predict Third Term for Kejriwal Government

With an overall voter turnout of 57%, polling for the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 has concluded. Many polling agencies have started publishing the Delhi Exit Poll 2020. All of them Read More…

Delhi Elections 2020: Live Voting Percentage Delhi Elections 2020: Live Voting Percentage

LIVE UPDATES    4:01:05 PM Constituency Voter Turnout (%) as of 04:00 PM Nerela North West Delhi 49.76 Burari 32.20 Timarpur 38.19 Adarsh Nagar 42.47 Badli North West Delhi Read More…

Delhi Election Live Updates Delhi Election 2020: Live News Updates

Delhi Elections Live News Updates of Polling. Follow 4:00:07 PM Constituency Voter Turnout (%) as of 04:00 PM Nerela North West Delhi 49.76 Burari 32.20 Timarpur 38.19 Adarsh Nagar Read More…

Delhi Election 2020 - Yogi Adityanath Rallies Yogi Adityanath Dives Into Political Warfare of Delhi To Promotes Shaheen Bagh Trump Card

Bharatiya Janata Party’s Hard Hindutva face Yogi Adityanath has joined the fiery campaign for Delhi Election 2020. Now that the tone has been set for the campaign, Yogi is walking Read More…

Being less densely populated than its counterpart in the North, the South Goa parliamentary constituency is one of the two Lok Sabha seats allotted to the western Indian state of Goa. It was formerly called the Mormugao Lok Sabha constituency. 533,811 is the total electorate count in the South Goa Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 2). Out of these 268,186 number of electorates are males and the remaining 265,625 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. Situated in the South Goa district, the South Goa constituency has as its administrative headquarters and municipal corporation, the city of Margao.  

According to the 2011 Census of India, the South Goa district has a population of 6,40,537 people with a relatively less population density of 326 inhabitants per square kilometer. The economy of the South Goa parliamentary constituency, like that in North Goa, thrives on tourism and elaborate coastal trading, due to the presence of the Arabian Sea that guards its west coastline.    

As per the Delimitation Commission’s ruling in 2008, the number of assembly segments comprising the South Goa parliamentary constituency is 20. This constituency has been a stronghold of the Congress, although political outfits like the United Goans Party and the BJP have managed to capture the seat in some elections. The Congress is in power in the seat presently. The Election Commission is solely responsible for the supervision and control of the Lok Sabha elections to this constituency.

South Goa Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Cosme Francisco Caitano SardinhaIndian National Congress201279028220156147.47Winner
Adv. Narendra SawaikarBharatiya Janata Party191205060119180645.181st Runner-up
Elvis GomesAam Aadmi Party20876015208914.922nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above541901754361.283rd Runner-up
Rakhi Amit NaikShivsena17610217630.424th Runner-up
Mayur KhanconkarIndependent17050017050.45th Runner-up
Dr. Kalidas Prakash VaingankarIndependent14120114130.336th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs South Goa Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of South Goa parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the South Goa constituency is Adv. Narendra Keshav Sawaikar of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20142South GoaGENAdv. Narendra Keshav Sawaikar M BJP 198776 Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco M INC 166446
20092South GoaGENSardinha,Shri Francisco MINC127494Adv. Narendra Keshav SawaikarMBJP114978

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in South Goa Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in South Goa parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Ponda Nuvem Velim
Siroda Curtorim Quepem
Marcaim Fatorda Curchorem
Mormugao Margao Sanvordem
Vasco Da Gama Benaulim Sanguem
Dabolim Navelim Canacona
Cortalim Cuncolim

Last Updated on July 12, 2019