Track your constituency

Live News

Ranaghat Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Ranaghat Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Jagannath SarkarBharatiya Janata Party7797670348678325352.78Winner
Rupali BiswasAll India Trinamool Congress5487360108954982537.051st Runner-up
Biswas RamaCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)974620309977716.592nd Runner-up
Minati BiswasIndian National Congress231780119232971.573rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above911102691370.624th Runner-up
Gautam RayBahujan Samaj Party853603385690.585th Runner-up
Haldar PareshSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)64490564540.436th Runner-up
Bidyut BiswasIndependent571601357290.397th Runner-up

One of the 42 constituencies of West Bengal state, Ranaghat Lok Sabha Constituency is reserved for the SC category and has over 1,330,000 voters. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Ranaghat Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 13) were 1,329,436 of which 632,366 are females and 697,070 are males. It was formed post the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008 and consists of seven legislative assembly segments. All these segments are located in the Nadia District. Ranaghat is a city located in the eastern area of the state, in the Nadia District at a distance of 74 km from Kolkata. It has an elevation of 7 m and is situated along the banks of Churni River.

As per the 2011 India Census data, the city houses over 236,000 people with a 52% male majority and 48% of females. About 19,000 are children under the age of six and the sex ratio here is more than 940 females for every 1000 males. With an average literacy rate of 86%, it has a male literacy rate of 90% and female literacy rate of 83%. The town's economy deals mostly in business and several traders are located here and lately, the IT industry has been developing as well. The rural population however, still depends mostly on agriculture and handicraft. The National Highway NH-34 passes through the district, connecting it to a vast road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ranaghat Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ranaghat parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ranaghat constituency is Tapas Mandal of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Currentr MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201413Ranaghat(SC)Tapas MandalMAITC590451Archana BiswasMCPM388684
200913Ranaghat(SC)Haldar,Dr. Sucharu Ranjan MAITC575058Basudeb BarmanMCPM473235

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Ranaghat Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Tapas Mandal
Age 44
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.Sc. (Ag), Ph.D. (Horticulture)
Activities of Dr. Tapas Mandal in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 29
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 2
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ranaghat Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ranaghat parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Krishnanagar DakshinSantipurRanaghat Uttar Paschim
Krishnaganj (SC)Ranaghat Uttar Purba (SC)Ranaghat Dakshin (SC)

Last Updated on June 28, 2019