Chakdaha (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Chakdaha Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Chakdaha is constituency No. 91 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in Nadia district. It is part of Lok Sabha constituency No. 13 which is Ranaghat. Ranaghat is a reserved parliamentary constituency. However, Chakdaha is an open assembly constituency. It was part of Nabadwip Lok Sabha constituency earlier. According to the Election Commission of India, Chakdaha has 1,92,318 registered voters. It has 1,00,835 male and 91,483 female voters. In the 2011 assembly elections, the Trinamool Congress scored a maiden victory from this seat. Chakdaha had been a CPI(M) bastion since 1977. Naresh Chandra Chaki, the winning TMC candidate, bagged 88,771 votes. He defeated his nearest competition, Biswanath Gupta of CPI(M), by a margin of 14,099 votes. The voter turnout was an impressive 90.20%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Assembly Chakdaha Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Chakdaha assembly elections conducted so far.
Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2014 91 Chakdaha GEN Kar Ratna Ghosh F AITMC 90787 Biswanath Gupta M CPI(M) 53022
2011 91 Chakdaha GEN Naresh Chandra Chaki M AITC 88771 Biswanath Gupta M CPM 74672
2006 82 Chakdaha GEN Malay Kumar Samanta M CPI(M) 109670 Naresh Chandra Chaki M AITC 77801
2001 82 Chakdaha GEN Satyasadhan Chakraborty M CPM 95980 Gouri Sankar Dutta M AITC 79480
1996 82 Chakdaha GEN Satyasadhan Chakraborty M CPM 97454 Sukumar Sarkar M INC 75838
1991 82 Chakdaha GEN Satasadhan Chakraborty M CPM 77333 Sukumar Roy M INC 53450
1987 82 Chakdaha GEN Subhash Basu M CPM 67632 Santanu Bhowamik M INC 47700
1982 82 Chakdaha GEN Subhas Basu M CPM 59481 Narendre Nath Sarkkar M INC 37097
1977 82 Chakdaha GEN Binoy Kumar Biswas M IND 32238 Saradindu Biswas M INC 11895
1972 76 Chakdaha GEN Hari Das Mitra M INC 33144 Basu Subhas Chandra M CPM 24576
1971 76 Chakdaha GEN Basu Subhash Chandra M CPM 29301 Sural Chandra Mandal M BAC 16561
1969 76 Chakdaha GEN Subal Chandra Mandal M BAC 29738 Ashim Kumar Majumder M INC 15236
1967 76 Chakdaha GEN H.Mitra M BAC 20761 S.Tagore M IND 14888
1962 66 Chakdaha GEN Santi Das F INC 22894 Akhil Chandra Nandy M CPI 11041
1957 187 Chakdaha GEN Suresh Chandra Banerjee M PSP 18189 Santi Das F INC 14967

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates