Santipur (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Santipur Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Santipur, in Nadia district of West Bengal, is a legislative assembly segment and belongs to the Ranaghat (SC) Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency. Ajoy Dey of the All India Trinamool Congress has been an MLA from Santipur since 1991.After winning the 2011 elections, Dey chose to resign from the state assembly in 2013 to be re-elected in 2014. In the By-elections held that year, Dey bagged 71,973 votes defeating Anup Kumar Ghosh of the CPI (M) by a big margin of 38,158 votes. A total of 2,13,967 people of the Santipur legislative assembly constituency are eligible to cast their ballots and exercise their franchise. In all, 1,11,399 males and 1,02,566 females make the electorate of Santipur. According to the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India 2008, the Santipur constituency consists of Santipur Municipal Corporation and Haripur, Babla, Gayeshpur, Baganchra, Belgoria-I and Belgoria-II gram panchayats of Santipur community development block.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Assembly Santipur Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Santipur assembly elections conducted so far.
Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2014By-polls 86 Santipur GEN Ajoy Dey M AITC 71973 Anup Kumar Ghosh M CPI(M) 51838
2011 86 Santipur GEN Ajoy Dey M INC 98902 Iyar Mallik M RCPI(R) 60744
2006 78 Santipur GEN Ajoy Dey M INC 89834 Santanu Chakrabarti M CPI(M) 87721
2001 78 Santipur GEN Ajoy Dey M INC 69117 Badal Basak M IND 47541
1996 78 Santipur GEN Ajoy De M INC 78163 Bimalananda Mukherjee M RCPI(R) 67793
1991 78 Santipur GEN Ajoy Dey M INC 56107 Asim Ghosh M RCPI 54666
1987 78 Santipur GEN Bimalananda Mukherjee M IND 50261 Ajay De M INC 45633
1982 78 Santipur GEN Bimalananda Mukherjee M IND 42525 Asamanja De M INC 34668
1977 78 Santipur GEN Bimalananda Mukherjee M RCI 28553 Jnanendra Nath Pramanik M JNP 14371
1972 73 Santipur GEN Asamanja De M INC 27272 Bimalananda Mukherjee M RCI 18626
1971 73 Santipur GEN Bimalananda Mukherjee M RCI 16818 Asaamanha De M INC 16530
1969 73 Santipur GEN M. Makshed Ali M RCI 21848 Haridas Day M INC 19400
1967 73 Santipur GEN K.Pal M CPM 20695 H.Dey M INC 16577
1962 63 Santipur GEN Kanai Pal M IND 26553 Haridas Dey M INC 17400
1957 190 Santipur GEN Haridas Dey M INC 17180 Kanai Pal M IND 13470
1952 By Polls Santipur GEN D. Haridas M INC 11821 Pal Kanai M IND 6599
1951 130 Santipur GEN Sashibhusan Khan M INC 8115 Kanai Pal M RCPI 4564

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates