Track your constituency

Live News

Tirunelveli Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Connection failed: Access denied for user 'elect_eleciondb'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

One of the earliest constituencies of the country, Tirunelveli Parliamentary Constituency is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary constituencies and was formed in 1952. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Tirunelveli Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 38) were 1,059,687 of which 534,655 are females and 525,032 are males. It has six Vidhan Sabha segments and a total number of 1,060,000 voters. The city of Tirunelveli is the center of administration of the Tirunelveli District, located about 700 km from Chennai. With an average altitude of 48 m, the city is located on the banks of Thamirabarani River covering an area of 109 sq km.

As per the India census data of 2011, the metropolitan population of Tirunelveli is 499,000 with a 53% female majority. It has a sex ratio of 1023 females per 1000 males and a child population of 43,000. 14% of the population belongs to the SC category and 0.46% belongs to the ST category. Hindu is the predominant religion here and Tamil is the official language of the people. Christianity is also pretty prevalent here. The average literacy rate of the city is 91% with male and female literacy rates of 95% and 87%. It is the center of education in the region and several prominent educational institutions are located here. The National Highways NH-7 and its extension NH-7A are connected to this city.

Tirunelveli Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Gnanathiraviam SDravida Munnetra Kazhagam5172190540452262350.26Winner
Paul Manoj PandianAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam3359630120333716632.431st Runner-up
Michael Rayappan SIndependent617600449622095.982nd Runner-up
Sathya BNaam Tamilar Katchi494910407498984.83rd Runner-up
Vennimalai MMakkal Needhi Maiam229390161231002.224th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above108550103109581.055th Runner-up
Maharajan VIndependent511502251370.496th Runner-up
Maharajan AIndependent39380239400.387th Runner-up
Essakkiammal EBahujan Samaj Party343203034620.338th Runner-up
Murugesan SIndependent34280234300.339th Runner-up
Manoharan PIndependent20930220950.210th Runner-up
Manikandan GIndependent19570119580.1911th Runner-up
Ramakrishnan NNaam Indiar Party16870116880.1612th Runner-up
Paul Solomon PandianIndependent14060114070.1413th Runner-up
Sivasankar SJammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party12480312510.1214th Runner-up
Selvaganesan RUnited States Of India Party12370712440.1215th Runner-up
Manikandan PIndependent10790510840.116th Runner-up
Rathinasigamani MIndependent934009340.0917th Runner-up
Indurani SIndependent8850118960.0918th Runner-up
Bagavathikesan TIndependent879008790.0819th Runner-up
Selva Prakash RIndependent778017790.0720th Runner-up
Rajkumar AIndependent771007710.0721th Runner-up
Mohanraj AIndependent630006300.0622th Runner-up
Rajiv VictorIndependent627016280.0623th Runner-up
Ramamoorthi BIndependent585015860.0624th Runner-up
Ramaswamy SIndependent528015290.0525th Runner-up
Kamala KannanIndependent477024790.0526th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Tirunelveli Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Tirunelveli parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Tirunelveli constituency is Shri Prabakaran.K.R.P of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201438TirunelveliGENPrabakaran.K.R.PMAIADMK398139Devadasa SundaramMDMK272040
200938TirunelveliGENRamasubbu,Shri S.S. MINC274932Annamalai KMADMK253629
200436TirunelveliGENDhanuskodi Athithan, R.MINC370127Amirtha Ganesan, R.MADMK203052
199936TirunelveliGENPandian, P.H.MADMK249975Geetha Jeevan, P.MDMK223481
199836TirunelveliGENJanarthanan, R.MADMK247823Sarath Kumar, R.MDMK240919
199636TirunelveliGENSivaprakasam D.S.A.MDMK295001Rajaselvam A.RMADMK176721
199136TirunelveliGENJanarthanan M.R.MADK351048Kandasamy K.P.MDMK197456
198936TirunelveliGENJanartananMADK394444D.S.A. SivaprakasamMDMK203309
198436TirunelveliGENM.R. JanardhananMADK296897D.S.A. SivaprakasamMDMK210951
198036TirunelveliGENSivaprakasam D.S.A.MDMK256626Arunachalam V.MADK196664
197736TirunelveliGENArunachalam V.MADK304562Samsuddin Alias Kathiravan K.MMDMK121869
197136TirunelveliGENS. A, MurugananthamMCPI214214S. PalaniswaminathanMSWA154277

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Tirunelveli Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Tirunelveli parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
AlangulamTirunelveli Ambasamudram

Last Updated on July 6, 2019