Track your constituency

Live News

Tirunelveli (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Latest Election News and Update

Police Officer Killed, Pentagon Shooting US: Police Officer Killed Outside the Pentagon Police Building

On Tuesday morning the Pentagon Force Protection Agency confirmed that a Pentagon police officer was killed in an incident at the Metro bus platform outside the building. The investigators of the incident believe that there was an argument in which the suspect stabbed the Pentagon police officer.  According to law enforcement sources, it appears that […]

Scott Miller, US Afghanistan News Gen. Scott Miller, Top US General In Afghanistan Hands Over Command

Marking a symbolic end to the 20-year-old war between the United States and Afghanistan, the top US Gen. Scott Miller in Afghanistan stepped down from his position at a ceremony in the capital Kabul. After the United States military withdrawal, the Taliban insurgents continue to gain more territory which will topple the central government in […]

Afghanistan, US troops to withdraw from Afghanistan The U.S Troops to Completely Withdraw From Afghanistan, Said Joe Biden

The United States mission in Afghanistan will come to an end on August 31, President Joe Biden said. The conclusion of the US military in Afghanistan will end the 20-year-old war.  Now that U.S. troops are almost completely out of Afghanistan the Taliban faction is making rapid territorial expansion in the country. President Joe Biden […]

Jharkhand Lockdown Extended till June 10

The Hemant Soren-led government in Jharkhand extended the lockdown restrictions till June 10 though there will be some relaxations in curbs.    The state has been in lockdown since April 22. The first set of lockdown regulations were imposed for a week since then it is the fourth time that the lockdown regulations are extended. […]

Google Doodle Commemorates American Gay Rights Activist Frank Kameny

Google Doodle commemorates prominent American astrologer and gay rights activist Frank Kameny. Frank Kameny was personally invested in the cause of the gay rights movement because of the prejudice he faced in his life.    Growing up during the great depression in the 1930s Frank Kameny realized he wanted to become an astrologer. He graduated […]

Joe Biden Tells Intelligence Community To Report On The Emergence Of Covid 19 Within 90 Days

The President of the United States of America Joe Biden called the US intelligence community to report on the origin of coronavirus. There are various theories circulating about the possible origin of Covid 19. Joe Biden asked the US intelligence to revert back with ‘sufficient information’ on the event within 90 days. The United States […]

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results Live


About Tirunelveli Assembly Constituency

Tirunelveli is constituency No. 224 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. This constituency is located in the district which goes by the same name. It is part of Tirunelveli Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency and one of the oldest assembly segments of Tamil Nadu since independence.

According to the Election Commission of India, Tirunelveli constituency has 2,05,146 voters. It includes 1,02,979 male and 1,02,161 female voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, the AIADMK party won this seat by a formidable margin of 38,491 votes. The winning candidate, Nainar Nagenthran, bagged 86,220 votes. Lakshmanan A.L.S, the runner-up from DMK, got 47,729 votes. The voter turnout was 76.69%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Tirunelveli Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Tirunelveli assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201150TirunelveliGENNainar NagenthranMAIADMK86220Lakshmanan.A.L.SMDMK47729
2006218TirunelveliGENMalai Raja NMDMK65517Nainar NagenthranMAIADMK64911
2001218TirunelveliGENNainar Nagendran.MADMK42765Subramanian.A.L.MDMK42043
1996218TirunelveliGENSubramanian, A.L.MDMK59914Karuppasamy Pandian, V.MADMK36590
1991218TirunelveliGENVeliah D.MADK63138Subramanian A.L.MDMK32853
1989218TirunelveliGENSubramanian, A.L.MDMK37991Nellai Kannan N.S.S.MINC28470
1986By PollsTirunelveliGENVeerappan.R.MMADK52729Subramanian.A.LMDMK39495
1984218TirunelveliGENNarayanan, S.MADK56409Subramanian, A.L.MDMK37547
1980218TirunelveliGENNedunchezhiyan, V. R.MADK48338Rajathi KunchithapathamFINC(I)34142
1977218TirunelveliGENG.R. EdmundMADK26419Krishnan Alias Nellai KannanMINC19125
1971220TirunelveliGENP. PadmanabhanMDMK43325RajathikunghithapathamMNCO26373

Last Updated on May 13, 2016