Track your constituency

Live News

Kurukshetra General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Latest Election News and Update

AAPs' Gurantee Card for Delhi Election 2020 AAP’s Guarantee Card for Delhi Assembly Election

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) supremo and Delhi’s incumbent Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal presented a ‘guarantee card’ that lists 10 ‘guarantees’ or promises that the AAP government will fulfil in the Read More…

INC Candidate List Delhi Elections 2020 Congress List of Candidates Delhi Election 2020

The Indian National Congress (INC) has released its first list of candidates on the 70 seats for Delhi Assembly Elections. The National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT-Delhi) will be going Read More…

BJP CM for Delhi Elections 2020 Having No CM Face, Is It Possible for BJP to Take on Kejriwal?

The Aam Aadmi Party is outstanding amongst the other for Delhi Assembly Election 2020, for having a strong CM candidate – Arvind Kejriwal. Congress and BJP are campaigning without any Read More…

BJP - Delhi Elections 2020 BJP Announces Candidates for 57 Constituencies of Delhi

After long contemplation, Bharatiya Janata Party has declared its Delhi List of Candidates. This list contains the candidates for 57 seats of the Delhi Assembly Election 2020. There are 11 Read More…

AAP - BJP - INC - Delhi Elections 2020 Is It a Triangular Fight or Just AAP vs BJP in Delhi?

The political whirlwind of Delhi mostly revolves around only three political parties. AAP, BJP, and INC are the only candidates making headlines about Delhi’s politics. Although the Congress’s Sheila Dikshit Read More…

AAP Candidate List Delhi 2020 AAP Announces List of Candidates for Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), on Monday, released its list of candidates on all of 70 constituencies for the upcoming Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. The National Capital Territory of Delhi Read More…

Well known in history since ancient times is the region of Kurukshetra, which today houses a Lok Sabha seat. The Kurukshetra parliamentary constituency, besides being one of the 10 parliamentary constituencies in the northern Indian state of Haryana, is one of the most political active and historically significant constituencies of the state, as the land witnessed, according to the epic Mahabharata, the famous Kurukshetra War.

Quick facts for Kurukshetra

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party BJP
MPRaj Kumar Saini
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6379975286871166684
Polling stations1263

According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Kurukshetra Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 2) were 1,166,684 of which 528,687 are females and 637,997 are males.  

This parliamentary constituency is spread across the entire district of Kurukshetra and Kaithal, while covering parts of the Yamuna Nagar district. The number of assembly constituencies of the Kurukshetra parliamentary constituency has been numbered to nine assembly segments, out of which assembly constituencies of Shahbad and Guhla are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste candidates. According to the Census of India 2001, the district of Kurukshetra houses a population of 8,25,454 people.  

Kurukshetra city is the administrative headquarters of the Kurukshetra district. Kurukshetra is termed the Dharmakshetra or the Holy Place. Though the region of this Lok Sabha constituency has a rich agrarian base that provides the district its economy, a heavy industrial setup is also flourishing in this region.

Kurukshetra Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Nayab SinghBharatiya Janata Party6865880204168862955.98Winner
Nirmal SinghIndian National Congress303722031630403824.711st Runner-up
ShashiBahujan Samaj Party75533092756256.152nd Runner-up
Jai Bhagwan Sharma (Dd)Jannayak Janta Party68437076685135.573rd Runner-up
Arjun Singh ChautalaIndian National Lok Dal605740105606794.934th Runner-up
Ashwini Sharma HrittwalIndependent46110046110.375th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above316503331980.266th Runner-up
Sandeep SinghIndependent308802631140.257th Runner-up
Cs Kanwaljit SinghIndependent28040728110.238th Runner-up
Balveer SinghIndependent24480124490.29th Runner-up
Sumer ChandPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)23130023130.1910th Runner-up
Anil Yogi UpadhyayIndependent19390119400.1611th Runner-up
Ramesh Chander KhatkarIndependent14660114670.1212th Runner-up
Jai Parkash SharmaIndependent13430113440.1113th Runner-up
Vikram SinghBhartiya Shakti Chetna Party117501111860.114th Runner-up
Rameshwar (Foji)Independent11250411290.0915th Runner-up
Subhash Chand BediPragatishil Samajwadi Party (Lohia)10870410910.0916th Runner-up
Jyoti HibanaNavnirman Party9740119850.0817th Runner-up
Sachin GabaIndependent919029210.0718th Runner-up
Roshan Lal MuwalIndependent886028880.0719th Runner-up
Satish Kumar SingalIndependent845008450.0720th Runner-up
Ram NarayanBhartiya Jan Samman Party765017660.0621th Runner-up
Sandeep Kumar KaushikRashtriya Lokswaraj Party682046860.0622th Runner-up
Raj KumariBharat Prabhat Party506015070.0423th Runner-up
NitinAapki Apni Party (Peoples)467004670.0424th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kurukshetra Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kurukshetra parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kurukshetra constituency is Shri Raj Kumar Saini of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20142KurukshetraGENRaj Kumar Saini M BJP 418112 Balbir Singh Saini M INLD 288376
20092KurukshetraGENJindal,Shri Naveen MINC397204Ashok Kumar AroraMINLD278475
20042KurukshetraGENNaveen JindalMINC362054Abhay Singh ChautalaMINLD201864
19992KurukshetraGENKailasho DeviFINLD438701Om Parkash JindalMINC275091
19982KurukshetraGENKailasho DeviFHLD(R)333387Kuldip SharmaMINC191867
19962KurukshetraGENOm Parkash JindalMHVP292172Kalasho DeviFSAP240395
19912KurukshetraGENTara SinghMINC212783Shyam SinghMJP182758
19892KurukshetraGENGurdial Singh SainiMJD301640Harpal SinghMINC263452
19842KurukshetraGENHarpal SinghMINC275112Manohar LalMLKD131836
19802KurukshetraGENManohar LalMJNP(S)159196Bishan SinghMJNP131267
19772KurukshetraGENRaghbir SinghMBLD322164Devdutt PuriMINC71322

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kurukshetra Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kurukshetra parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Radaur Ladwa Shahbad
Thanesar Pehowa Guhla
Kalayat Kaithal Pundri

Last Updated on July 5, 2019