Track your constituency

Live News

Balurghat General Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

Latest Election News and Update

AAP Delhi Election Results AAP Maintains Lead in Delhi Assembly Elections Results 2020

Vote counting is underway for Delhi Election Result 2020. The tension is heightened up for the real outcome of the election. As per the latest updates, Aam Aadmi Party is Read More…

Delhi Election Results 2020 - Live News Updates Delhi Election Results 2020: Live News Updates

  DELHI ELECTION RESULTS 2020 LIVE 7:21:21 PM Result Declared Chhatarpur: Kartar Singh Tanwar of AAP won by 3720 votes. Karol Bagh: Vishesh Ravi of AAP won by 31760 votes. Read More…

Delhi Exit Poll Highlights Exit Polls Predict Third Term for Kejriwal Government

With an overall voter turnout of 57%, polling for the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 has concluded. Many polling agencies have started publishing the Delhi Exit Poll 2020. All of them Read More…

Delhi Elections 2020: Live Voting Percentage Delhi Elections 2020: Live Voting Percentage

LIVE UPDATES    4:01:05 PM Constituency Voter Turnout (%) as of 04:00 PM Nerela North West Delhi 49.76 Burari 32.20 Timarpur 38.19 Adarsh Nagar 42.47 Badli North West Delhi Read More…

Delhi Election Live Updates Delhi Election 2020: Live News Updates

Delhi Elections Live News Updates of Polling. Follow 4:00:07 PM Constituency Voter Turnout (%) as of 04:00 PM Nerela North West Delhi 49.76 Burari 32.20 Timarpur 38.19 Adarsh Nagar Read More…

Delhi Election 2020 - Yogi Adityanath Rallies Yogi Adityanath Dives Into Political Warfare of Delhi To Promotes Shaheen Bagh Trump Card

Bharatiya Janata Party’s Hard Hindutva face Yogi Adityanath has joined the fiery campaign for Delhi Election 2020. Now that the tone has been set for the campaign, Yogi is walking Read More…

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Balurghat Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Sukanta MajumdarBharatiya Janata Party5375770174053931745.02Winner
Arpita GhoshAll India Trinamool Congress505463056150602442.241st Runner-up
Ranen BarmanRevolutionary Socialist Party72917073729906.092nd Runner-up
Abdus Sadek SarkarIndian National Congress36698085367833.073rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above13403011134141.124th Runner-up
Naran TuduJharkhand Mukti Morcha63830463870.535th Runner-up
Muslima KhatunIndependent49490149500.416th Runner-up
Bibhuti TuduIndependent47140547190.397th Runner-up
Nalin Chandra MurmuBahujan Samaj Party330201833200.288th Runner-up
Ranjit Kumar MohantaShivsena32970333000.289th Runner-up
Ranendra Nath MaliBahujan Mukti Party20050220070.1710th Runner-up
Nubash Chandra BarmanKamatapur People'S Party (United)17620117630.1511th Runner-up
Biren MahantaSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)15250115260.1312th Runner-up
Manas ChakrabortyCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) Red Star13450413490.1113th Runner-up

One of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of the state of West Bengal, Balurghat city represents Dakshin Dinajpur district of the State. 1,010,224 is the total electorate count in the Balurghat Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 6). Out of these 530,001 number of electorates are males and the remaining 480,223 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It was formed before the 1962 elections and has a total number of 1,010,000 voters. This constituency comprises of seven assembly segments of which six lie in Dakshin Dinajpur District and one is in Uttar Dinajpur District. Out of these segments, one is reserved for ST and one for SC categories. Prior to 2009 elections, this seat was reserved for SC category.

The city of Balurghat is the headquarters of the Dakshin Dinajpur District and it is located on the banks of River Atreyee which runs through the city. It is very near to the Bangladesh border and is at a distance of 80 km from Eklakhi and around 430 km away from the Kolkata. It stands at an average elevation of 25 m and covers an area of over 363 sq km. The total population is over 164,000 with a child population of about 10,500. The sex ratio is around 990 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Balurghat is around 91% and it is home to various colleges and schools. Balurghat is considered to be the trading hub of North West Bengal and it deals in rice, jute, oil seeds and sugarcane trade.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Balurghat Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Balurghat parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Balurghat constituency is Shri Arpita Ghosh of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20146BalurghatGENArpita GhoshFAITC409641Bimalendu Sarkar (Bimal)MRSP302677
20096BalurghatGENMajumdar,Shri Prasanta Kumar MRSP388444Biplab MitraMAITC383339
20046Balurghat(SC)Ranen BarmanMRSP415298Manomohan RayMBJP344152
19996Balurghat(SC)Barman RanenMRSP375669Subhash Ch. BarmanMBJP312748
19986Balurghat(SC)Ranen BarmanMRSP428710Nani Gopal RoyMWBTC256535
19966Balurghat(SC)Barman RanenMRSP440283Satyendra Nath RoyMINC296576
19916Balurghat(SC)Palas BarmanMRSP353159Rasendra Nath BarmanMINC267078
19896Balurghat(SC)Palas BarmanMRSP388103Satyendra Nath RoyMINC354577
19846Balurghat(SC)Palas BarmanMRSP317141Satyendra Nath RayMINC294924
19806Balurghat(SC)Barman PalasMRSP284766Ranajit SarkarMINC(I)204438
19776Balurghat(SC)Palas BarmanMRSP206112Rasendra Nath BurmanMINC151549
19715Balurghat(SC)Rasendra Nath BarmanMINC159896Pijush Kanti DasMCPM74618
19675Balurghat(SC)J.N.PramanikMINC130379D. P. Kanti MCPM106930
19625Balurghat(ST)Sarkar MurmuMCPI137290Shelku MardiMINC127470

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Balurghat Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Balurghat parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
ItaharKushmandi (SC)Kumarganj
Balurghat Tapan (ST)Gangarampur (SC)

Last Updated on June 26, 2019