Balurghat (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections

About Balurghat Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Balurghat is a Lok Sabha (parliamentary) as well as a legislative assembly constituency in the state of West Bengal. It is located in the Dakshin Dinajpur district of the state. There are a total of 1,57,881 people in the Balurghat assembly segment holding the right to vote, out of whom 80,542 are men and 77,329 are women. Chakraborty Shankar of the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) currently represents Balurghat in the state legislative assembly of West Bengal. He won 67,495 votes in the 2011 assembly elections and defeated RSP's Biswanath Choudhury by a margin of 18,291 votes. The Balurghat assembly constituency comprises Municipal Corporation of Balurghat; Chingishpur, Vatpara and Amritakhand gram panchayats of Balurghat community development block; and Hilli community development block as recommended by the Delimitation Commission of India in 2008.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Balurghat Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Balurghat assembly elections conducted so far.

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 39 Balurghat GEN Chakraborty Shankar M AITC 67495 Biswanath Choudhury M RSP 49204
2006 38 Balurghat GEN Biswanath Choudhury M RSP 57150 Choudhuri Debasree F BJP 48895
2001 38 Balurghat GEN Choudhury Biswanath M RSP 53945 Shankar Chakravorti M AITC 51222
1996 38 Balurghat GEN Choudhury Biswanath M RSP 55183 Khan Biplab M INC 46562
1991 38 Balurghat GEN Biswanath Chowdhury M RSP 46597 Khan Biplab M INC 38884
1987 38 Balurghat GEN Biswanath Choudhury M RSP 48066 Madhab Chandra Roy M INC 37664
1982 38 Balurghat GEN Biswanath Choudhury M RSP 41197 Ashish Roy M ICS 32324
1977 38 Balurghat GEN Biswanath Choudhauri M RSP 29292 Jyotiswar Sarkar M INC 13203
1972 34 Balurghat GEN Bireswar Roy M INC 28894 Basu Mukul M RSP 23526
1971 34 Balurghat GEN Bireswar Roy M INC 25109 Jatin Chakraborty M RSP 22941
1969 34 Balurghat GEN Mukal Basu M RSP 27389 Ranajit Basu M INC 17478
1967 34 Balurghat GEN M.Basu M IND 23583 G.L.Ghose M INC 19322
1962 29 Balurghat GEN Susil Ranjan Chattopadhyay M INC 17277 Dhirendra Nath Banerjee M RSP 15262
1957 16 Balurghat (ST) Dhirendra Nath Banerjee M IND 24387 Saroj Ranjan Chatterjee M INC 21314
1957 16 Balurghat (ST) Mardi Hakai (St) M INC 22296 Nathaniel Murmu (St) M IND 20434
1951 18 Balurghat GEN Saroj Ranjan Chattopadhyaya M INC 26075 Dhirendra Nath Bandopadhyay M RSP 10842
1951 18 Balurghat GEN Lakshman Chandra Hasda M INC 23386 Cornelius Murmu M RSP 9697

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates