Track your constituency

Raiganj Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

One of the 42 Lok Sabha Constituencies of West Bengal state, Raiganj Parliamentary Constituency was formed prior to the 1962 elections. 1,108,382 is the total electorate count in the Raiganj Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5). Out of these 583,292 number of electorates are males and the remaining 525,090 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It has seven legislative assembly segments two of which are reserved for the SC category and a total number of 1,108,400 voters. Raiganj is a city and the district headquarters of the Uttar Dinajpur District and stands at a height of 40 m. It is home to the second largest church of the country and has a large bird sanctuary.

The city has a total population of about 200,000 of which 52% are males and 48% are females. Children comprise of about 12% of the population and there is a 52% Hindu majority. The sex ratio is 936 females per 1000 males and the average literacy rate of over 75% with male literacy of 79% and female literacy rate of 71%. Bengali, English, Hindi and Urdu are the languages used in the area. There are several schools and colleges in the area and the municipality of Raiganj is divided into 25 wards. The district is one of the 250 most backward districts of India and receives financial aid from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. The National Highways NH-31 and NH-34 connect the area to a large road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Raiganj Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Raiganj parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Raiganj constituency is Md. Salim of CPM.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20145RaiganjGENMd. SalimMCPM317515Deepa DasmunsiMINC315881
20095RaiganjGENDasmunsi,Smt. Deepa FINC451776Bireswar LahiriMCPM346573
20045RaiganjGENPriya Ranjan DasmunsiMINC421904Minati GhoshMCPM382757
19995RaiganjGENPriya Ranjan DasmunsiMINC409331Subrata MukherjeeMCPM334076
19985RaiganjGENSubrata MukherjeeMCPM350897Priya Ranjan DasmunsiMINC344616
19965RaiganjGENSubrata MukherjeeMCPM383051Golam YazdaniMINC372095
19915RaiganjGENSybarta MukerjeeMCPM310167Golam YazdaniMINC280199
19895RaiganjGENGolam YazdaniMINC342072Subrata MukherjeeMCPM339173
19845RaiganjGENGolam YazdaniMINC271983Subrata MukherjeeMCPM251759
19805RaiganjGENGolam YazdaniMINC(I)196241Abdul HafizMCPM194936
19775RaiganjGENMd. Hayat AliMBLD188694Abedin AnowarulMINC121570
1972Bye PolRaiganjGENM.RayMINC149375S.K.NiyogiMIND5751
19714RaiganjGENSidhartha Sankar RayMINC147360Subodh SenMCPM83353
19674RaiganjGENC. K. BhattacharyyaMINC70743N.K. BoseMFBL69753
19624RaiganjGENChapala Kanta BhattacharjeeMINC81795Asoke Nath Sen MCPI52392

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Raiganj Constituency

Name of MP Shri Mohammad Salim
Age 61
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A. (Philosophy )
Activities of Shri Mohammad Salim in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 66
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 50
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Raiganj Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Raiganj parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
IslampurGoalpokhar Chakulia
KarandighiHemtabad (SC)Kaliaganj (SC)

Last Updated on March 13, 2019