Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Kanthi Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Kanthi, or Contai is one of the 42 constituencies of West Bengal, comprising of seven Vidhan Sabha segments and came into existence in 1951. The Kanthi Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 31) has a total of 1,249,775 electorates out of which 603,730 are females and 646,045 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It has a total number of 1,250,000 voters. Contai city is the headquarters of the Contai Subdivision which is a part of the Purba Medinipur District. It has a total area of over 17 sq km and an average height of just 6 m. It is at a distance of 160 km from the state capital and about 30 km from Digha. Bengali is the official language of Contai.

The city has a population of over 77,500 with a 52% male majority and 48% female minority. The sex ratio is 936 females per 1000 males and a 10% child population. The average literacy rate is 82%, with male literacy rate of 85% and female literacy rate of 78%. Several well known institutions are located here including one that of engineering and one that of agriculture colleges. Primary agro based production is cashews and the place is also well known for its salt. It is one of India's 250 backward districts, one of the eleven of the state, and receives funds from the government. State Highways connect it to nearby major cities.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kanthi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kanthi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kanthi constituency is Shri Adhikari Sisir Kumar of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Currentr MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201431KanthiGENAdhikari Sisir KumarMAITC676749Sinha TapasMCPM447259
200931KanthiGENAdhikari ,Shri Sisir Kumar MAITC606712Prasanta PradhanMCPM477609

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Kanthi Constituency

Name of MP Shri Sisir Kumar Adhikari
Age 77
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification I.Sc. (Appeared)
Activities of Shri Sisir Kumar Adhikari in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 0
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kanthi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kanthi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
ChandipurPatashpurKanthi Uttar
BhagabanpurKhejuri (SC)Kanthi Dakshin

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency