Track your constituency

Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

The Jalpaiguri Parliamentary Constituency is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha parliamentary constituencies and came into being in the year 1962 and currently has 1,252,142 voters. The Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 3) consists of 1,252,142 number of electorates in totality, of these 662,777 are males and 589,365 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It consists of seven legislative assembly segments, of which one is reserved for the SC category. The headquarters of the Jalpaiguri District lies in the city of Jalpaiguri which has a total area of 70.29 sq km. The district has a total area of 6,245 sq km.

As per the 2011 census data, the total population of the district is 3,869,675 of which 1,983,064 are males and 1,889,782 are females. The population growth rate of Jalpaiguri was about 14% from 2001 to 2011 and it has a population density of 621 persons per sq km. About 12% of the population is under the age of six and the sex ratio of Jalpaiguri is 954 females per 1000 males. With an average literacy rate of 73.79%, which is higher than the national average, the male and female literacy rates are 79.95% and 66.23% respectively. Bengali is the official language here while Hindi, Urdu, Marwari and English are also widely spoken by the locals. Various major roads are connected to this area. The National Highway NH-31 and its extensions are connected to the Jalpaiguri District.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jalpaiguri Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jalpaiguri parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jalpaiguri constituency is Shri Bijoy Chandra Barman of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20143Jalpaiguri(SC)Bijoy Chandra BarmanMAITC494773Mahendra Kumar RoyMCPM425167
20093Jalpaiguri(SC)Roy,Shri Mahendra Kumar MCPM469613Barma SukhbilasMINC381242
20043JalpaiguriGENMinati SenFCPM424163Parash DuttaMAITC243558
19993JalpaiguriGENMinati SenFCPM405785Kalyan ChakrabortyMAITC296848
19983JalpaiguriGENMinati SenFCPM426672Kalyan ChakrabortyMWBTC251697
19963JalpaiguriGENJitendra Nath DasMCPM434577Deb Prasad RoyMINC322115
19913JalpaiguriGENJitendra Nath DasMCPM364285Tushar Kanti ChoudhuriMINC249929
19893JalpaiguriGENManik SanyalMCPM387805Sriram SinghMINC275677
19843JalpaiguriGENManik SanyalMCPM285619Arun MoitraMINC252447
19803JalpaiguriGENSubodh SenMCPM232751Sriram SinghMINC(I)142355
19773JalpaiguriGENKhagendra Nath DasguptaMIND173484Maya RayFINC115786
19712Jalpaiguri(ST)Tuna OraonMINC113104Birsen KujarMCPM60137
19672Jalpaiguri(ST)B. N. KathamMINC121613A. H. BesterwitchMIND104725
19622JalpaiguriGENNalini Ranjan GhoshMINC117814Saroj Kumar Chakrabarty MRSP93221

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Jalpaiguri Constituency

Name of MP Shri Bijoy Chandra Barman
Age 61
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.A.(Economics), B.Ed.
Activities of Shri Bijoy Chandra Barman in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 2
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 1
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jalpaiguri Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jalpaiguri parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Mekliganj (SC)Dhupguri (SC)Maynaguri (SC)
Jalpaiguri (SC) Rajganj (SC)Dabgram-Phulbari
Mal (ST) 

Last Updated on March 13, 2019