Mekliganj (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Mekliganj Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Mekliganj is a legislative assembly segment in the state of West Bengal. It is located in the Cooch Behar district and a part of the Jalpaiguri (SC) Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency of the state. Mekliganj is home to a total of 1,94,943 eligible voters, out of whom 1,01,556 are men and 93,387 are women. Adhikary Paresh Chandra of AIFB currently represents the Mekliganj constituency in the state legislative assembly of West Bengal. He won the seat in the assembly elections held in 2011 with 72,040 votes and defeated NIC's Jayanta Kumar Ray by a considerable margin of 32,632 votes. As recommended by the Delimitation Commission of India in 2008, the Mekliganj assembly segment comprises Haldibari (M), Haldibari community development block, Mekliganj (M) and Mekliganj community development block. This assembly seat of West Bengal is reserved for the candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes (SC).

Sitting and previous MLAs from Mekliganj Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Mekliganj assembly elections conducted so far.

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 1 Mekliganj (SC) Adhikary Paresh Chandra M AIFB 72040 Jayanta Kumar Ray M NIC 39408
2006 1 Mekliganj (SC) Paresh Chandra Adhikary M AIFB 67491 Sunil Chandra Roy M AITC 39490
2001 1 Mekliganj (SC) Paresh Chandra Adhikary M FBL 65351 Ramesh Roy M AITC 48318
1996 1 Mekliganj (SC) Ramesh Roy M FBL 40982 Sunil Chandra Ray M INC 38999
1991 1 Mekliganj (SC) Paresh Chandra Adhikary M FBL 56032 Mani Bhusan Roy M INC 34838
1987 1 Mekliganj (SC) Sada Kanta M FBL 48071 Madhu Sudan Roy M INC 39034
1982 1 Mekliganj (SC) Sada Kanta Roy M FBL 40958 Niren Chowdhury M ICS 28528
1977 1 Mekliganj (SC) Sada Kant Roy M FBL 21339 Madhusudan Roy M INC 12622
1972 1 Mekliganj (SC) Mauhusudan Roy M INC 25816 Amarendranath Roy Prodhan M FBL 18233
1971 1 Mekliganj (SC) Mihir Kumar Ray M FBL 19880 Mani Bhushan Roy M INC 15982
1969 1 Mekliganj GEN Amarendra Nath Roy Prouhan M FBL 25678 Madhusudan Roy M INC 22823
1967 1 Mekliganj (SC) A.N.R.Prodhan M FBL 31402 M.Roy M INC 16753
1957 15 Mekliganj GEN Satyendra Prasanna Chatterjee M INC 9493 Amarendra Nath Roy Prodhan M FBM 7003
1951 11 Mekliganj GEN Satyendra Prasanna Chatterjee M INC 7748 Mukunda Mohan Sarkar M IND 7175

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates