Track your constituency

Bishnupur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

The Bishnupur Parliamentary Constituency is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha constituencies which was formed in 1962 and has 1,238,000 electors. The total number of electorates in the Bishnupur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 37) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,237,948 of which 647,069 are males and 590,879 are females. It has a total of seven legislative assembly segments and is reserved for the SC category. It is located in the Bankura District and is over 130 km away from Kolkata at an average height of 60 m. It is famous for terracotta temples.

As per the 2001 India census data, the total population of the area is about 62,000 of which 50% are males and 50% are females. About 11% of the population is under the age of six and the sex ratio is 914 females per 1000 males. With an average literacy rate of 69%, Bishnupur has male and female literacy rates of 77% and 61% respectively. Bengali, Hindi, Urdu and English are widely spoken in the area. Handicrafts, agriculture, etc are the popular economic activities to this majorly agrarian area. Terracotta products are particularly exclusive to the area and the tourism industry is also an important avenue for economic development. The Bishnupur Gharana is a famous school for Hindustani Classical Music and has had Royal Patronage. The National Highway, NH-60 and several state highways connect it to a large road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Bishnupur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Bishnupur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Bishnupur constituency is Khan Saumitra of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Currentr MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201437Bishnupur(SC)Khan SaumitraMAITC578870Susmita BauriFCPM429185
200937Bishnupur(SC)Bauri,Smt. Susmita FCPM541075Seuli SahaMAITC411709

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Bishnupur Constituency

Name of MP Shri Khan Saumitra
Age 38
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Higher Secondary
Activities of Shri Khan Saumitra in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 7
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 6
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Bishnupur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Bishnupur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Katulpur (SC)Indas (SC)Sonamukhi (SC)
Khandaghosh (SC) 

Last Updated on March 13, 2019