Sonamukhi (West Bengal) Assembly Elections Results

About Sonamukhi Assembly Constituency

Sonamukhi is constituency No. 258 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in Bankura district. It comes under Lok Sabha constituency No. 37, which is Bishnupur. This seat is reserved for scheduled castes. According to the Election Commission of India, the constituency of Sonamukhi has 1,80,448 registered voters. It includes 95,219 male and 85,229 female voters. The Trinamool Congress won this seat in the 2011 assembly elections. Dipali Saha, the winning candidate from TMC, bagged 82,199 votes. She defeated his nearest competition by a safe margin of 7,289 votes. Chongre Manoranjan of CPI(M) was the runner-up. The voter turnout was 91.53 %. This was an important win for the TMC since Sonamukhi had been a CPI(M) stronghold for a long time.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Sonamukhi Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Sonamukhi assembly elections conducted so far.

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 258 Sonamukhi (SC) Dipali Saha F AITC 82199 Chongre Manoranjan M CPM 74910
2006 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Niresh Bagdi M CPI(M) 69455 Dipali Saha F AITC 37751
2001 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Khan Sukhendu M CPM 63702 Dipali Saha F AITC 44751
1996 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Haradhan Bauri M CPM 64376 Pulakesh Saha M INC 39884
1991 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Haradhan Bauri M CPM 53141 Sasthidhar Bagdi M INC 31117
1990 By Polls Sonamukhi (SC) H.Bauri M CPM 60297 J.Saha M INC 25882
1987 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Sukhendu Khan M CPM 50713 Kallol Saha M INC 35586
1982 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Sukhendu Khan M CPM 42574 Sasthi Bauri M INC 32660
1977 256 Sonamukhi (SC) Sukhendu Khan M CPM 26288 Kanai Saha M JNP 11003
1972 243 Sonamukhi (SC) Guru Pada Khan M INC 24403 Sukhendu Khan M CPM 15317
1971 243 Sonamukhi (SC) Sukhendu Khan M CPM 15091 Kanai Saha M INC 13979
1969 243 Sonamukhi (SC) Sukhendu Khan M CPM 25422 Kanai Lal Saha M INC 16773
1967 243 Sonamukhi (SC) K . Saha M INC 19652 K . K . Bagdi M CPM 11794
1951 56 Sonamukhi GEN Sishuram Mandal M INC 17155 Bishnu Pada Ghose M IND 8031
1951 56 Sonamukhi GEN Bhabataran Chakraborty M INC 17138 Sushil Chandra Palit M KMPP 7366

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates